We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to meet friends” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Copper Hog

The Copper Hog
Ranked #224 of 440 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gangneung, Gangwon-do, South Korea
2 reviews
“Great place to meet friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've had mainly positive experiences at the Copper Hog. The food is always delicious - try the curry fries, for example - but in terms of value, it's quite a bit outside my college student range. For a budget meal, I'd suggest the French Onion soup. Sitting outside in the summer time is nice, but I'd say the Copper Hog really shines during a cold autumn evening, where they light candles on each table and not a whole lot else. The menu also caters towards hearty pub foods. Service has been unpredictable, but the times when I ended up waiting, the restaurant was extremely busy. When I think about the places I miss from home, The Copper Hog is definitely one of them.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KatieOntheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    45
    26
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I didn't think the food quality , number of selections selections were great. This is a fun place to stop for a drink with a bunch of friends.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Wa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Food, and Variety of Brews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We come here whenever we go to Bellingham. It's got a nice pub atmosphere. Their Mac and Cheese with bacon is to die for. They always have a good selection of local beers. It's a great place to meet up with parents when they are in town visiting their kids at Western. They are usually a lot less packed then Boundary Bay, which is nice. You'll still need reservations on busy college weekends though.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A great gastropub with a cheesy name.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I went as a part of a couple and more recently as part of a quartet and I would go back alone! Great food and experience. We had good and friendly servers. I was concerned because of some mediocre reviews that were posted but I found this to be an outstanding value and all of the meals served during the two visits were fantastic. Found the establishment to be busy and had to wait both times but the wait is worthwhile. A funky and creative place. I suggest that you order the naan and a pint or glass and settle down to choose something from the menu - it's all good. The only thing I would change is the name of the establishment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bigscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wherever I May Roam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food - not just for a pub - and excellent beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This truly is a gastropub. From the porkbelly tacos to the tuna poke to the pork "wings", the food here is consitently great, as is the beer.
The service is usually great also. LOVE this place. AND, they are open late for food too - rare in the Ham

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank blauzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Copper Hog also viewed

 

Been to The Copper Hog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing