We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pray that Kit is no longer the manager” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Houston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pray that Kit is no longer the manager”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Upon making my reservation and also at check in, I requested a quiet room. No partying guests near me, top floor (3rd) is fine. Room near the freeway? No problem--with a little imagination, the constant highway traffic can sound almost like the sound of the ocean on a beach.

They had plenty of occupancy available (per the clerk and my own observations). Instead, I got a 2nd floor room, with guests in the room above me...I could hear their heavy footsteps all night until they went to bed around midnight. Also, my "quiet room" was situated overlooking a late night sports bar parking lot--loud, drunk conversations, including a 3:00 AM conversation between two patrons standing outside one's car with the radio blaring and the door open. I finally went out on the cold balcony in my bath robe and told them to take their party elsewhere. But, by then I was wide awake at 3:00 AM.

I got very little sleep that night and losing my sleep disrupted one of my two planned meetings in Bellingham the following day, because I had to cancel the 2nd due to fatigue. I changed rooms the following day (more hassle). Because I was given a short window to make my room change (30 minutes), which included a level change from 2nd to 3rd, I inadvertently left some audio tapes in the first room but I did not notice until I was flying back home out of state.

Upon my return home, I called and front desk staff referred me to the manager, Kit, as she apparently keeps them under a tight managerial control and they are not permitted to make decisions like sending my tapes to me. One of the staff said she drives right by the post office, but "would not be permitted to do me the favor of mailing it for me via the P.O." due to the iron hand of Kit.

Per Kit, my only options would be to arrange for UPS or FedEx to ship my tapes to me ($27.00 to 35.00). Bear in mind that Bellingham has multiple Post offices and one is within a mile or two of the hotel. Kit would not budge and mail it for me, even though she could have put the cost on my credit card, plus I promised to pay a $5.00 tip (to anyone who would mail them for me).

Ultimately I had a relative of mine pass through Bellingham two weeks later and she agreed to stop by the motel and send it by US mail ($5.66 total cost). Bear in mind that the size of the package was equal to four decks of playing cards bound together, though much lighter.

If I had not had to change rooms, this never would have happened. But Kit disavowed ANY responsibility for it and apparently cared little about keeping a happy return customer. Also--when I first made my reservation, the price I was quoted was about 8 dollars less than when I arrived late and tired for my first night. The clerk ultimately managed to arrange a $3.00 credit, but stated she could go no higher; even the $3.00 was enough to put her standing with Kit in jeopardy.

While I appreciated her attempt to somewhat offset the overcharge it was she who selected the bogus "quiet" room for me and who helped to perpetuate the lame customer service of this place.

So, if you take the risk of staying at the Econo Lodge, Bellingham, WA, just be aware that any problems that may arise and that could ruin your stay to some degree, are your fault. Any assistance from staff must ultimately be approved by Kit. And Kit is not your friend, plus she could not care less if you came back. She also could not care less if you post your complaints about your stay on the Trip Advisor website, just like I'm doing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econolodge228, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Regarding: David F
We are sorry that this guest’s stay at our hotel was unsatisfactory. He stayed with us almost 2 years ago, so it is impossible to recall exact details of his situation.
All of the staff believe in offering excellent customer service, and we make every effort to ensure that every guest has a comfortable and pleasant experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    79
    63
    21
    18
See reviews for
77
71
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Remember first that this is an EconoLodge. Don’t expect anything except the basics. At this hotel, the basics were perfectly executed. This was obviously a room that had been recently remodeled and that made all the difference. Clean carpet, no strange smells anywhere, everything worked like new, because it was. I have been in many 5 star hotels that could not pass these tests. My son was here with a hockey team and we compared notes. His room had not been remodeled and that made all the difference. BTW, for both of us, the breakfast was excellent. Also, if you have a fear of heights, request a first floor room.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently remodeled room. First floor if you have a fear of heights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ken4az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Saanich, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Check in was quick and friendly. Clear instructions were given for the location of the room. Parking was plenty & close. The room was large, adequately furnished and VERY clean. The drapes closed properly, kept out the light and the beds were comfortable. The room was quiet, although the hotel was quite full. The breakfast room is big with lots of tables and the breakfast was good. There is a bar/restaurant/casino next door with good food and prices.

Room Tip: Hotel is right next to freeway, but we could'nt hear it as we we were on the other side,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gelli550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cariboo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

On a family vacation and stayed one night on way south. We were travelling with our dog and they welcome pets with a gift box. The rooms are basic but clean. The hotel is near access to highway I5, and across street from the golf course. There is a large shopping mall nearby. The soundproofing between rooms is minimal.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors facing I5 get a bit more noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thecoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, BC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived at the hotel late at night and were impressed with the hotel staff person on duty. We asked for a room on the main floor and our upgraded room was nice. The room was suite-like in size. Bed was comfortable, not typical for a economical hotel! This same staff member provided details about the reasonable-priced parking during our vacation, including the complimentary taxi to and from the airport! Overall, we were impressed with this property.

Room Tip: Ask about their upgraded rooms which are well worth the cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgetteMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have stayed here several times over the years, great location, close the the major routes, shopping, dining, etc. Good breakfast to start the day with, and clean rooms, good pub next door.good prices as well.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, bottom rooms are a senior preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vnacouver,BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the econo lodge on Feb 6. This was an overnight stay on our way to catch a flight out of Bellingham the next morning as well as parking our vehicle for the stay. Let me start by saying, I am not a fussy traveller, I weigh out the cost and the benefits when making a decision. I have never written a negative review yet (have submitted quite a few!) I did not expect a whole lot for the price, but certainly a little more than I got. What we did get was a room that had a mold smell to it, in a location that did not appear all that safe (in fact, to get ice you had to go to the front desk to get a "token" in order for you to get ice!). We were told to wait by our room for the shuttle (taxi) to take us to the airport, the driver was told to wait at the front of the hotel, needless to say, we waited outside for 10 mins before walking around to see where our shuttle was. Upon our return, we were told we had to call for shuttle, they could not prebook it (reasonable, incase of a delay), but we called right away and waited 25 mins for the shuttle! I would deinately not recommend this hotel,

Room Tip: There are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mom2mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bellingham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
0.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bellingham
Comfort Inn Bellingham
#12 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
Address: 3750 Meridian Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Bellingham
Econo Lodge Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing