We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Disapointment” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Soy House

Soy House
Ranked #144 of 426 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
200 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A Disapointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I've been waiting for the new location of Soy House to open in Bellingham, on W. Holly St., ever since it was announced earlier this year. The new space is airy and quite large, but the tile floor and hard surfaced walls and ceiling make it very noisy. A friend and I went at late lunch hour, and the place was still quite jammed. Given the chaos, the service was good and very friendly.

The food, however, disappointed. I had Pho with beef, a very small amount of overcooked beef in an indifferent broth. This is such a basic item that I thought it would be a safe bet for a windy/chilly day. Having eaten several times at the Bakerview Rd. location, this was a let down. If you like Pho, there's lots better elsewhere in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HeadingOut98229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Helena, Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and good servicce for a large group.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Went with 10 people, six of which were children. Great that they have a variety of food not just Vietnamese. Everyone was happy and service was good. We went to the new location on Holley.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lolly6631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Yuk”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was the worst meal experience I have had in Bellingham or anywhere in a long time. If you like bean sprouts and cilantro, you might like it. They put that on and in everything. I am okay with those ingredients but they over do it. The wait for a table was over a half hour, yet there were empty tables available. They left us standing outside in the cold. The service was poor and no one even smiles in that place (in the downtown restaurant). We ordered spring rolls and they were greasy, tasteless and you guessed it, full of bean sprouts. The soup was bland
also loaded with noodles and cilantro and sprouts. It was noisy, poor value, and no enthusiasm from the wait staff. We were so turned off we took a break from eating out all together for a few weeks. This is my first bad review. i do try to find something good about every place I visit. This was yuk.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jogg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, less than stellar service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We ate at their new restaurant and it was really busy. The food was really good but we wanted another glass of wine and never saw our waiter again. We would have ordered dessert also, but he dropped off the check on a dead run. I think their business model is just to turn tables, but maybe they should think about increasing the sales at each table instead. Whatever, we still will be back!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jholmes1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just try the Vitnamese kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We had chicken Pho and a rice menue. Both was really delicious. The service was ok we had to asked twice for the drink we ordered before but anyway everything was good we would recomanded

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruchsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soy House also viewed

 

Been to Soy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing