We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Hilton, but clean and friendly for 1 night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Washington State
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the Hilton, but clean and friendly for 1 night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

The Gentlemen at the front desk were more than helpful and very friendly. They are even shipping my daughters pillow (her beloved pillow) back to us free of charge. The rooms are clean, not fancy at all but clean and inexpensive for the 1 night. The property is well kept. Breakfast in the morning and coffee. I doubt I will be back in this area but if it were just for a night I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelanTLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    126
    30
    6
    11
See reviews for
109
117
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Our stay at the Coachman Inn exceeds our expectations ! We wanted a clean, safe and a homey atmosphere all for a reasonable inexpensive price. We got that and much more. The Coachman Inn provided my family and myself an atmosphere of home sweet home. Coachman Inn reminded us of a really good bed and breakfast, with a ma and pa homey type of atmosphere. The Customer Service was exceptional, Management was very friendly, helpful and courteous. Nice outdoor size swimming pool with a deck to watch the kids play. Very comfortable quarters and a good continental breakfast. Management & Staff were very friendly and helpful and instantly assisted us in recommending a place to eat and giving us easy directions. An example of this exceptional service was when we were hanging around the pool and had breaked for dinner, it had rained for a short while and when we returned to bring our little boys back into the pool all the furniture was wet so Management ran out to dry the entire outdoor furniture /chairs/table for us so we could enjoy the rest of the evening. That was one of many little things that made our stay special. We would definetly recommend the Coachmann Inn to all of our family and friends and would most definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SportsDadVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed at the Coachman Inn (while attending a family wedding in Bellingham) mostly due to the reviews we read online at TripAdvisor. We were pleasantly surprised with the courteous service we received and the cleanliness of the rooms. The staff were more than helpful in getting everything we needed promptly (i.e. an iron to press clothes, and a sheet for our 11-month old's travel crib), and happily struck up conversations with my talkative father-in-law! We would definitely stay here again! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I have stayed in many chain and indepentent motels all over the U.S. and Canada. The Coachman Inn was by far the cleanest of them all. Their attention to detail showed from the polished brass lobby door handle to the fresh white stripes lining the parking lot and (heated) pool. The staff was friendly and helpful. The price was more than fair.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LyonsGate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past two years, as I live in Vancouver and often make the trip down to shop in the US. The staff is always very friendly, the rooms are clean, and the location is good, close to I-5, but you don't hear it.
The only complaint I have is that the light from the parking lot tends to blast in through the window so you have to be a little creative with the way you close the blinds.
A continental breakfast is included. Closeby are several restaurants and a fantastic grocery store called Hagan.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zapatista234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qatar
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We have travelled for the past 2 months through the USA and have had some good, some great and some not so good hotels. This is definitely one of the better ones... really clean, new rooms... very helpful front desk and wish we could find places like this on each of our stops.. stay here if you are staying in Bellingham!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottnjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Ever since our son has been a student at Western Washington University, we have stayed at the Coachman Inn. Of course it is a good value, but so much more. Our whole family looks forward to staying and visiting with the owner. He takes care of us like family. It is comforting while being away from home. The hotel is clean, conveniently located and has a well stocked breakfast bar. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXnative5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
3.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#18 of 28 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#16 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Property: Coachman Inn
Address: 120 North Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coachman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing