We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Budget Type Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
NE Washington
1 review
“Excellent Budget Type Motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

My ratings are based on the type (budget) of motel, what can/should be expected within the type.
Stayed 3 nights March 7th to the 10th
I was visiting on family business and due to the fact my husband was injured at home in an accident a month earlier (meaning we were without income for the time being) cost was a primary concern. After reading other reviews of the budget type motels in Bellingham I chose Coachman. It was a good choice.
Prior reviews are accurate. It is an older facility but has had some updating. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate. Very clean which is what I'd hoped for no matter the price. Comfortable beds. Staff friendly. The operators are also the owners and family members which means they have a vested interest in good management.
They do have wifi but for whatever reason my laptop would not sync with the wifi password, when I went to the front desk to see if there was an option the manager/owner gave me a plug in modem...problem solved! That's what I call service.
The first night there was a rugby game in towm and a lot of the players stayed at the Coachman, early evening they were getting a bit loud. I saw the owner walk through and soon after the players dispersed to the local taverns. Don't know if anything was said, just the owner seemed to take care of the situation w/o making anyone upset.
The continental breakfast is very basic, but what do you expect for the price!
Prior to making reservations I checked prices for the same 3 day period at the 4 other lowest cost Bellingham locations and Coachman was the lowest of all and had the best reviews.
For the cost conscious traveler this is a gem. If you like a lot of amenities, a big breakfast selection and more then go eslewhere and pay for it.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trider71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    126
    30
    6
    11
See reviews for
110
117
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Staff were welcoming and helpful at all times. They were hapy to assist us as international travellers. The beds were fantastic and the rooms were clean, warm and functional, with plenty of roo. The motel is only 2 minutes from the university (walking distance), food outlets and shops. We highly recommend to any university visitors. We will be staying again on each of our visits. Price was more than value for money. A pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronjennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the Coachman Inn. The motel was newly remodeled, clean, and the staff was very, very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a bit small but certainly adequate. We will be staying here again in the future when we come to visit our son.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed February 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mushroom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We have just returned from 2 nights at Coachman Inn. The hotel is great and we have never experienced such incredible service before. The owner was at the front desk to greet us when we arrived and when we left - very friendly and helpful.

The room was a little on the small side - but spotless. It contained a small fridge and a coffee maker - supplies replaced daily. A microwave was available in the hall and where continental breakfast was served.
For breakfast there was oatmeal, 3 kinds of cold cereal, fruit juice, milk, coffee, assorted muffins and bananas and coffee was on by 6 AM

The pool was great - we spent one afternoon lazing about - nice table and umbrella and lounging chairs. Water was 86 degrees!

The location was great - several great restaurants close by on same street. There was also a grocery store - Haggen's just down the street - with one of the greatest deli dept's I have ever seen! Not more than a 2 minute drive off of Freeway.

This is an older hotel but it is being very lovingful cared for and I saw people working on and off all day both days we were there.

The only knock I can honestly give is that our TV was not the best - could not adjust the colour - but that was a minor point as it the met the need in every other way!

We will stay again - great value for the price!

  • Liked — Service and cleanliness
  • Disliked — TV quality
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank QPW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights in late July 2008. We picked the Coachman Inn based on positive reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed! The desk person was helpful and friendly. I liked the fact that they did a visual check of the room to ensure that it was ready before giving us the key. The bed and bathroom were spotless, the towels were clean and the fridge worked. There was no microwave in our room and the only one available was in the corridor... an odd place to put one, but a better alternative to walking down to the breakfast area to use one. On short stays, we normally don't ask for housekeeping and some hotels will simply redo the beds but not replace the towels. At Coachman Inn, housekeeping did our bed, cleaned the bathroom and replaced our used towels. We came back from shopping to our room which looked like it was made up for the next guest. The only negative thing I can say is that the room door looked flimsy and the locking mechanism was really old.

We will definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends. We got very good value for what we paid.

JESEP

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
Thank JESep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2008

We weren't sure what to expect with such a low price but we were pleasantly surprised. First off, both the gentlemen who served us when we checked in and then out were wonderful, attentive and friendly. The room was very clean. We had two beds and the room was small but comfortable. Sure, the bathroom needed some renovations, but it was very clean. The only drawback was the noise from the I-5, but we travel with a portable white noise machine (about $40-50 and worth every penny).

Breakfast was in the lobby and consisted of assorted cold cereals, a good variety of juices and milk, delicious muffins and donuts as well as some bananas and coffee. We are not coffee drinkers so I cannot attest to their coffee making skills. The breakfast area was neat and tidy.

Wi-fi internet is important to us and it worked very well, just get the code when you check in.

  • Liked — Price and service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shutterkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

For the price, location and wonderful staff hospitality, we got a great deal! It is not the Hilton, but nor does it claim to be. It is an awesome place for families to stay. The price was affordable and the amenities were just what we were looking for. The owner was very attentive and responsive to our needs!!

  • Liked — the kindness of the owner
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rebel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
3.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#18 of 28 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#16 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Property: Coachman Inn
Address: 120 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-6097
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coachman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing