We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Finally, a value-for-money place to stay while blowing through town. Poor Bellingham, we never come to stay and play. We’re always on our way somewhere and just need a quiet room and comfortable bed for the night. Up until now, staying in Bellingham has always felt like a you-get-what-you-pay for experience and we’ve bowed to it. But TripAdvisor reviews lead us here in November and we were pleasantly surprised. It’s clean, comfortable and quiet. The most important things. The bathroom always matters (not too small, ideally with a bathtub, but if not then at least enough elbow room to avoid claustrophobia). Not looking for luxury, but not wanting a dive either. So, the Coachman wins.

The only serious drawback is that the room was redolent with cleaning ‘fragrances’ — almost enough to make me reconsider. Really, in this day and age, with an abundance of fragrance-free cleaning products, there’s no reason for this and I hope, next time I come, this will have resolved itself. It’s hard to breathe in a room that needs so much airing before sleep. I think there’s a responsive management in place here which means that this might be rectified at some point.

Room Tip: Ask for fragrance-free?
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CelisabethJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Coachman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 405 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

Overnighted at the Coachman last night after travelling from Vancouver, BC to Everett,WA to see the Village Theatre's production of Les Miserable. For fans of the show this is a must see .Was outstanding-better than the Vancouver show at the Queen Elizabeth last year.
But I digress-back to the Coachman. Arrived at around19H45-check in was quick and friendly.Asked for a quiet room and was assigned a second floor room in the first building -closest to the main road. Noise was never an issue though. There are three things I typically look for in a hotel/motel room-cleanliness, quiet and cheap ( or at least good value) the Coachman delivers on all three counts. The bed was comfy ,linens and bathroom clean and plenty of cable channels ( make that four things I look for in a room) also a coffee maker, hair dryer,shampoo's etc. For the price of USD 55 a night you can't go wrong. Recommend this property.

Room Tip: Probably rooms in the second or third bldgs. will have little or no noise from the main rd.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Canuckle154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

As usual we stayed here before flying out early the next day! This family run hotel is just SIMPLY the best! It is old and far from the most modern, however, if you are looking for clean, and nice this is it! This family goes the extra mile. We often leave for a flight in the middle of the night and they provide us with water and snacks the night before. They allow us to go into the refrigerator and get fruit and what we need. This is great as often there is nothing at the airport that early in the morning. We will continue to stay here and support Norrinder and his family run business!

Room Tip: As for one away from the Freeway!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Clean, but far from elegant. A good place to stop if all you want is a place to spend the night before traveling on. The free breakfast was perfectly good, but decidedly normal; i.e., nothing very exceptional. Staff was attentive. Price was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel out through Trip Advisor and were really glad we found it! Everything was really clean, everyone was super nice. Hard to believe at the reasonable price we paid there was an exercise room, sauna, and a good breakfast with ORGANIC apples and soy milk! These people are great hosts. Even broght me a bottle of water while I was on the exercise bike, without me asking. Must have noticed I didn't have one, I had left it in the room and did not want to wake my partner. We will be back!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Constancia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Second time staying at the Coachman Inn. Very reasonable, very clean and nice people! Good restaurants close by. Descent breakfast included. The rooms are basic but have everything that you would need and amazingly clean. Recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank met12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This motel is a great bargain, managed by very attentive and helpful staff. They go above and beyond duty, such as cleaning snow off the cars in the parking lot. Location is convenient to WWU, restaurants, I-5 and Airporter Bus stop. Clients include university families and families attending youth soccer tournaments, etc. We stay here on a monthly basis and it is safe and clean and we feel welcomed and treated as friends, not just customers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 122ELH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 27 in Bellingham
462 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#7 of 27 in Bellingham
958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#20 of 27 in Bellingham
177 reviews
3.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 27 in Bellingham
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-6097
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range: $54 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coachman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing