We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bargain and management”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great bargain and management”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This motel is a great bargain, managed by very attentive and helpful staff. They go above and beyond duty, such as cleaning snow off the cars in the parking lot. Location is convenient to WWU, restaurants, I-5 and Airporter Bus stop. Clients include university families and families attending youth soccer tournaments, etc. We stay here on a monthly basis and it is safe and clean and we feel welcomed and treated as friends, not just customers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 122ELH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    145
    31
    6
    12
See reviews for
120
135
42
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I would consider the Coachman Inn to be the best hotel for your money only in the shady part of town. While the staff are always watching the cameras, it gets a little creepy. I would recommend getting a hotel in a different part of town for a similar price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel earns a five for the exceptionally friendly service. It is a basic hotel as far as amenities are concerned, but the rooms are very clean and cozy. We've stayed at far chain hotels where the staff couldn't care less about the customer. That's not the case at Coachman...not by a long shot.

We arrived around 2000 at night...As we were unloading luggage, the owner made sure our room's heater was running (it was in the 20s outside). He was consistently helpful throughout our stay. It was these little things that will keep us staying here on future visits to Bellingham. A terrific value.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TomL911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Coachman is the perfect "on the way" hotel. We flew into Vancouver late and drove to Bellingham. Its a short trip and then we avoid this busy border lineup in the morning. At any rate, we didn't want to spend a ton because we were getting up the next day and heading to Seattle.

The rooms are dated yes, but clean, which is what I wanted.

The staff are terrific and I enjoyed the breakfast area.

Perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Coachman. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beds were extremely comfortable, and our room was lovely and clean. They obviously have conscientious cleaning staff who take pride in their work. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, and even took advantage of the laundry room, with large capacity washer and dryer. The room was nice and quiet, and the heating/ac unit was the quietest we've come across. We had two queen beds, dresser, fridge, desk and flat screen tv. Nice internet speed which registered about 8Mbps which allowed us to use our Magic Jack.
Definitely will be coming back here on our shopping trips from Canada.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, and you can barely hear the highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimMary63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

A last minute booking otherwise we may have not stayed here. However, we found a clean room, a comfortable bed and a good choice of breakfast. The only downside was that the heater in the room was very loud so we turned it off during the night but stayed warm in bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneE1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

It's a small motel near Bellingham downtown. I crashed there one night after my friend's big party. It's a good value for the buck and the room was clean. The staff was very helpful. They brought me an iron & iron board when I requested within 10 minutes. What a speedy room service! The heater was loud, so recommend to heat up the room and turn it off before going to the bed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ch2001Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
444 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#19 of 26 in Bellingham
157 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Property: Coachman Inn
Address: 120 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-6097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coachman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing