We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior and Friendly Customer Service”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel earns a five for the exceptionally friendly service. It is a basic hotel as far as amenities are concerned, but the rooms are very clean and cozy. We've stayed at far chain hotels where the staff couldn't care less about the customer. That's not the case at Coachman...not by a long shot.

We arrived around 2000 at night...As we were unloading luggage, the owner made sure our room's heater was running (it was in the 20s outside). He was consistently helpful throughout our stay. It was these little things that will keep us staying here on future visits to Bellingham. A terrific value.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank TomL911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Coachman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 404 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Coachman is the perfect "on the way" hotel. We flew into Vancouver late and drove to Bellingham. Its a short trip and then we avoid this busy border lineup in the morning. At any rate, we didn't want to spend a ton because we were getting up the next day and heading to Seattle.

The rooms are dated yes, but clean, which is what I wanted.

The staff are terrific and I enjoyed the breakfast area.

Perfect for what we wanted.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Coachman. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beds were extremely comfortable, and our room was lovely and clean. They obviously have conscientious cleaning staff who take pride in their work. We enjoyed the continental breakfast, and even took advantage of the laundry room, with large capacity washer and dryer. The room was nice and quiet, and the heating/ac unit was the quietest we've come across. We had two queen beds, dresser, fridge, desk and flat screen tv. Nice internet speed which registered about 8Mbps which allowed us to use our Magic Jack.
Definitely will be coming back here on our shopping trips from Canada.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, and you can barely hear the highway noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimMary63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

A last minute booking otherwise we may have not stayed here. However, we found a clean room, a comfortable bed and a good choice of breakfast. The only downside was that the heater in the room was very loud so we turned it off during the night but stayed warm in bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneE1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

It's a small motel near Bellingham downtown. I crashed there one night after my friend's big party. It's a good value for the buck and the room was clean. The staff was very helpful. They brought me an iron & iron board when I requested within 10 minutes. What a speedy room service! The heater was loud, so recommend to heat up the room and turn it off before going to the bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ch2001Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We are a mature couple in Bellingham for a night. We have stayed in several budget hotels in Bellingham over the years and this is by far the best value. A very clean, well maintained budget motel with all the typical amenities. Coffee and breakfast at 6 am. Very gracious owner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just needed an overnight stay in the Bellingham area while on our way to Seattle for a Seahawks game. Convenient to Interstate 5, clean, quiet location, comfortable bed, roomy bathroom, friendly staff, free parking and did I mention inexpensive? Coachman Inn ticked all of the boxes. What a great find! A continental breakfast that included lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, juice, boiled eggs and lots of muffins and pastries was also included. The care and generosity warmly offered to each guest by the owner and staff is evident from the buildings and grounds and housekeeping services through to the check in and check out experiences. Definitely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 27 in Bellingham
462 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#7 of 27 in Bellingham
958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#22 of 27 in Bellingham
177 reviews
3.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 27 in Bellingham
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-6097
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range: $54 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coachman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing