We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coachman Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

It's a small motel near Bellingham downtown. I crashed there one night after my friend's big party. It's a good value for the buck and the room was clean. The staff was very helpful. They brought me an iron & iron board when I requested within 10 minutes. What a speedy room service! The heater was loud, so recommend to heat up the room and turn it off before going to the bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ch2001Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 409 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

We are a mature couple in Bellingham for a night. We have stayed in several budget hotels in Bellingham over the years and this is by far the best value. A very clean, well maintained budget motel with all the typical amenities. Coffee and breakfast at 6 am. Very gracious owner.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just needed an overnight stay in the Bellingham area while on our way to Seattle for a Seahawks game. Convenient to Interstate 5, clean, quiet location, comfortable bed, roomy bathroom, friendly staff, free parking and did I mention inexpensive? Coachman Inn ticked all of the boxes. What a great find! A continental breakfast that included lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, juice, boiled eggs and lots of muffins and pastries was also included. The care and generosity warmly offered to each guest by the owner and staff is evident from the buildings and grounds and housekeeping services through to the check in and check out experiences. Definitely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stay here often when flying out from Bellingham. This is a great little Inn. Very clean and friendly. Mohinder is excellent trys to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Nice little breakfast served as well. My only wish is for larger beds husband is 6*4. We will return in December and are looking forward to it..

Room Tip: Ask for room away from I-5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayKamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a good stay here. The buildings fits perfectly in this green region. Rooms are a bit small but that isn´t a big deal. It´s clean and everything you need is nearby.
Breakfast is great although we had to move the staff to take care for it. The pool is small and meant to relax, not to swim.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DimitriB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I wrote a pretty scathing but well-deserved review of this place back in 2006 - my wife and I had previously stayed here numerous times for years - but the new owners at that time had let it become essentially a dump.

HOWEVER, since Mohinder took over (not "Mohamed" as one reviewer recently referred to him - he is clearly Indian) this place has just gotten better and better. We have stayed here several times over the last couple of years and have chatted with Mohinder a couple of times - he is a very nice, easy-going guy who knows how to run his business and keeps upgrading the facilities - over time he has replaced many items in the rooms incl. the beds (quite comfortable), the tvs, the air-conditioning/heater units, the carpets, the bathroom mirrors, "etc., etc., etc". (Thank you, Yul Brynner!)

I see there are about 3 recent very negative reviews and I just don't understand it - doesn't sound at all like The Coachman the way it is now.

Mohinder and his staff are very friendly, take great pains to keep it pretty quiet (quite a few CCTV cameras, with a monitor at the front desk) and the breakfast is pretty darn ok considering.

Anyway, you get the idea: reasonably priced, comfortable, clean, quiet, very friendly owner and staff - definitely "value for money".

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rickdeckard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend, while visiting our daughter. There was a severe storm with massive amounts of rain, flooding and high winds raging outside. We were cozy inside. It was actually warmer in there than in our daughter's house! The heater is not in the best spot, my husband kept rolling over at night and smacking his leg on it - it's RIGHT next to the bed, at bed height. The only thing we didn't like about the room was the bed size. They were all doubles. When you're tall and used to queen sleeping, it becomes cramped and frustrating very quickly. We heard very little of the weather event, never heard any traffic, and, for the most part, didn't hear other guests (except for the people who let their child run up and down the hallway in the morning yelling). Breakfast was nothing to write home about. We never saw anything hot like some of the reviews are claiming. But the coffee was amazing and the owner could not have been any nicer. He interacted with the guests, told fun stories from his life and managed to keep up with restocking things all the while. Overall, I would recommend to others if they can overlook the tiny annoyances and bed size!

Room Tip: Go for the middle building, inside parking lot - not much noise from that side, and farther from I-5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyogirl425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 27 in Bellingham
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#21 of 27 in Bellingham
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Bellingham
Comfort Inn Bellingham
#10 of 27 in Bellingham
419 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
3.3 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#6 of 27 in Bellingham
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-6097
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range: $54 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coachman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing