We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful for weekend shopping getaways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful for weekend shopping getaways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this little motel. Very clean, nice exercise room, Extremely helpful manager. I had made a mistake on my reservation dates and he corrected everything without problems. I was amazed and thrilled. Can you imagine showing up on the wrong date in a "chain" hotel. I loved the exercise room, It was extremely clean and had the machines working that I needed. I can't recommend this highly enough.

Room Tip: All seemed good, Lots of "close to the rooms" parking. It is away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    128
    31
    6
    11
See reviews for
112
119
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We usually stay near Bellis Fair Mall in Bellingham, Washington. However, this time this establishment caught our curiosity online through Booking.com. It holds an impressive 8.3 out of 10 & quite reasonably priced. Well, no wonder travelers like this place. It is wonderful.!!!The rooms are very clean, spacious & very quiet. We could not hear any noise above us yet the hotel had a lot of occupancy. There is a nice fitness area & outdoor pool although be forewarned as the pool is a mere 5' deep! Fine if you are swimming & not water running as I was. The owner is a gentleman named Mohamed & a nicer man you will never find. He even helped carry our bags & big cooler. He goes out of his way to be not only friendly but helpful too. The breakfast offered is quite nice too & just about everything one could want. He even stocks the fridge with soy milk & high quality juices. We will for sure stay at the Coachman Inn again & never stay anywhere else in Bellingham. There are stores & restaurants close by & all you need. There is also a fantastic Mexican restaurant right across the street (El Gitano) that has won so many food awards. Best food & Margarita's ever!!! Huge servings & reasonable prices too.
We highly recommend the Coachman Inn. Only one suggestion & we asked Mohamed about this. There are no safety bars in the tub. He said he will make sure there are next time. Be sure & ask him as there are handicapped rooms also available that have everything a disabled or older person might need.

Room Tip: We liked everything here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BC'ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the coachman inn because it could accommodate 4 people in the room. HOW ever, this place was terrible! Not only did we have NO hot water for 1 shower the pillows were old and smelled! The free breakfast consisted of sausage gray OLD bisquiks and scrambled eggs. There was not enough eggs in the crock pot to feed the 6 to 7 people there. OH did I mention the AC next to the bed at bed height!!! It kept one person cold while the Reston us were hot! I would not recomend this place, there are other newer places around the corner!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Vancouver Island, BC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked the Coachman Inn as a stop-over on our way to Seattle. It's on "motel row" which makes it easy to find, but isn't of course the most chi-chi area of a city. That said, it's really easy to find off the freeway, VERY clean - everything was so clean: the room, the bathroom, the parking lot, the little fitness room (which we did use, and all the equipment worked!) and the outdoor pool (which we did not use because it was night-time). Nice continental breakfast included in the price. Very quiet, even though it's close to busy streets, but we had no noise at all in our room (we were in the second building from the office). The towels were very good quality. And the price was definitely right!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WileyFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

If you are looking for a clean, well run, basic motel with excellent attitude from management this is your place. The room with 2 double beds for three people was a bit of a squeeze but the bathroom was clean and the room quiet. Where this motel exceeded expectations was with the continental breakfast which offered a wide array of choices not always seen elsewhere and a very solicitous manager who rushed to help my elderly husband who was having difficulty getting his cream cheese packet open and peeling his hard boiled egg. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MHSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Yes, the furnishings are dated, and there is indeed a communal microwave in the hallway, but the bed was very comfortable and the rooms were quiet. Service was great. The owner went out of his way to accommodate. I was happy to see healthier options available for breakfast. Value for money.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank olipep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonoma county, ca
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Now this owner does it right, plus he is so personable and helpful. Very comfortable bed, very clean room and wonderful continental breakfast. They had an abundant of fresh strawberries , never saw that before. This is the best value motel I have seen in a long time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnySonomaCounty_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#18 of 28 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Property: Coachman Inn
Address: 120 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-6097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coachman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing