We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Flight!”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We made reservations, and they were necessary, the motel was full on a Thursday night. The room was spotless. All the normal amenities, but done "just a bit better!" The queen bed was very comfortable, the room was quiet, AC provided. A large, excellent Continental Breakfast is served by the owner from 5:30 A.M. Good fresh coffee as well as coffee in the room, FRESH bagels, jams, cream cheese, fruit several breakfast drinks. Cost was less than 60% of competing hotels near the airport. Only an 8 minute, easy drive to return car to airport. There is a "communal microwave" in the hallway which can be used by guests. A very pleasant ending to a good driving trip through the Northwest!

Room Tip: The second floor in Building One is quiet and nice. The review for "restaurant" is for br...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Coachman Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 404 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

The proprietor of this establishment and his staff go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. The breakfast was a fine continental breakfast with fresh fruit. The rooms were very clean. The building is a little old and need of some work nonetheless it was a very pleasant place to stay. I would recommend this motel.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I also booked this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews and I wasn't dissappointed. The rooms are clean, the whole property is spotless and very well maintained. The beds are comfortable, the water is hot, there are tons of channels on the digital cable tv, the price cant be beat and there is a lovely outdoor pool but most of all the customer service. The owners of the hotel are so friendly and accomodating that's why you want to go back! The whole time we were there my 12 year old kept saying to me we have to come back here! Well we are on our next trip down in August.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmcg211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Discovered Coachmans Inn via tripadvisor, and it was even better than expected. The rooms are small, but the beds are very comfortable, there's good water pressure and plenty of hot water, it's quiet, and the staff are very pleasant and helpful--and it's very inexpensive. The hotel is located on a bit of a strip, Samich Way, near an Ace Hardware, an REI, and a nice grocery store, Haggan, so we could find everything we needed for our Alaska Ferry trip, all within a half-mile walk. There's a great place to stop for lunch on the way, called Pho 99.

Now, if the ferry will ever leave, we'll be out of here, and on our way!

Room Tip: We got a room with a king bed--just as nice as a fancy hotel bed, at a fraction of the price. Nothi...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is the second time in a 16 month period that I have stayed at this hotel and each time I have been treated very well and found the rooms to be very clean. I will be back to stay here when I need to stay in Bellingham.

First of all, it is an older building, so you may not find granite counter tops in your bathroom, but the upside is that these rooms are among the cleanest I've ever come across. Whoever does the cleaning on these rooms deserves a raise or at least a pat on the back.

And the service is excellent. The owners go to great lengths to ensure that you have a good stay. Incredibly friendly and very pleasant. I have stayed at some 4 star hotels and not been treated as well. Two incidents stick out in my mind. The first time I stayed here, I requested a package that needed to be mailed there and the owners accommodated my wish and didn't ask for a cent. Try that at other hotels. This last time, I needed to print out some documents off the internet and the owner let me use his desk computer and once again did not charge me a red cent. If you read this, please take a bow!

The breakfast is first rate, with a combination of cereals, fruits, pastries, oatmeal, yogurt, and even boiled eggs. You will not leave here hungry and I would like to note that as son as one person left their table, the owner was there within 10 seconds to clean the table.

There is a pool and it is clean and very well maintained. IT is very obvious that the owners care a great deal about not only their business but the actual physical building.

One last thing. If you want to book a room, phone the hotel directly as they will be able to place you in a room that best suits you, not what the internet companies put you in.

Room Tip: Phone to book if you can.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PG_Coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

It was immediately apparent that the ownership is present and involved when we drove up. The person behind the front desk helped us find the right parking space after I misunderstood his irections (It had been a loooong drive). The bathroom was spotless, the shower hot and good pressure, the bed was comfy and the road noise outside was minimal. The gluten free options at breakfast the next morning were MUCH appreciated. Checkout was painless and we were on the road to our next adventure. Did not get to use the fitness facilities or pool but everything looked very nice. I would definitely stay here again. The price can't be beat for what you receive.

Room Tip: The highway noise did not bother me, although our room faced that direction.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc_and_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Very clean and immaculately kept motel, very much in the tradition of a what we remember on Route 66. Everything works correctly. A very friendly staff who attend to your needs immediately with obvious pride in what they do. The small pool is clean and adequate for a warm day's swim. Our bed was as good as any three star hotel. In contrast to other hotels in town, the price for a room is extremely fair. They offered secure storage for our bikes. The hotel was in a prerect location not more than a mile from downtown Bellingham and directly east of the Fairhaven village. There was nothing that one can criticize. The breakfast includes hard boiled eggs, cereals, toast and bagels and the fruit is fresh.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 109 (perfect for two people) which was very convenient to the rest of the motel fa...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nolejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 27 in Bellingham
462 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#7 of 27 in Bellingham
956 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#21 of 27 in Bellingham
177 reviews
3.6 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 27 in Bellingham
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: 120 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-6097
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range: $54 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Coachman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing