We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Clean, friendly, safe, affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, safe, affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We usually stay at the place next door, but I wanted to give Coachman a try after reading the reviews on TA. A quick phone call ensured our reservation, with the friendly owner on the other end.

We stayed for three nights in a two bedded double room. There isn't a lot of space left, but considering we were there to eat dinner, watch a bit of tv, sort out plans, and sleep, it wasn't needed. Would I want to have four people in the room? Probably not, but I like my personal space. The desk had a large comfy chair, and there's another large chair besides. The two beds shared one night table and lamp. There was a large entertainment unit with a flat screen tv, digital cable box, fridge (no freezer as part of the fridge), and two drawers. There was a small space by the door for hanging clothes, and that likely would fit 2 suitcases. There was a small mirrored area with a coffee maker and supplies, and kleenex. The bathroom had a toilet, shower/tub, and sink. Lots of fluffy towels, and a basket of soap/shampoo/conditioner. Bathroom floors can often creep me out, but this one was sparkling clean.

Overall, the place was very clean. No residual strange smells, or fluff balls in the corner. Care is clearly taken and we felt very comfortable. The heating system was quick to warm the room up, and easy to use. It was a bit cold and dreary outside, so the air conditioning didn't get any use. We only noticed highway noise when the window was open, otherwise it was very quiet. Complaints? Couldn't find an outlet close to the bed for my iPod, and the clock radio was on the desk opposite. Microwave was in the hall, but there isn't really space for one in the room. Ice machine was outside the main building, which would be a quick dash outside if it's raining/etc. Other than that...

The owner was wonderful. He came out to show us the best parking spot for our room, and then opened the door and propped it for us and offered to help with bags. On another day he saw us unloading our shopping, and came rushing out to give a hand. The service really was top notch. Breakfast was also great. It was served in the main building, and featured coffee, the makings for tea, juice, milk, apples, oranges, bananas, boiled eggs, four kinds of cereal, muffins, pastries, mini bagels, cream cheese, jam, honey, instant oatmeal. We ate at varying times, between 8 and 9:30, and there was always plenty. One day the milk was low and two full jugs were quickly brought out and opened to make it easier for us. We were offered a tray to make it easier to carry it back to our room.

We always stay in the area when in Bellingham, and feel very safe and comfortable. It's a quick drive to Haggen, Fred Meyer, and more. A few more minutes gets you to Super Supplements, Trader Joes, Bellis Fair, and more.

It was a very enjoyable stay, and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor if you have difficulties with stairs or have large luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JumpinBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    128
    31
    6
    11
See reviews for
112
119
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

As other reviews have said, this is a clean comfortable hotel that is a value price because it is is an older property and not a chain. It has everything necessary for a good night's sleep plus breakfast food.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 21lisas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I went up skiing a couple of days to Mt Baker over the recent 3-day MLK weekend with a friend and we stayed at the Coachman Inn in Bellingham as our home base. I can't speak highly enough about the value of this place. Clean, comfortable beds and rooms, and an affable owner that makes you truly feel like a guest in his house. The continental breakfast is great and hits the spot on the way up to the slopes, and there is a nice, clean sauna in which to relax and warm your bones after a long day of carving through powder. My friend and I have talked about making this trip an annual event, and without a doubt, we will be returning to stay at the Coachman Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mctfarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We went to Bellingham for an after Christmas shopping trip and we enjoyed ourselves immensley! While it is more on the southend of Bellingham it's proximity to the I5 makes it a perfect location for any shopping destinations you wish to visit. It is definately a hotel in need of an update but everything we saw was clean and the front desk people were super friendly and very helpful! One thing to note is that the beds were somewhat hard, and he supposably gave us soft ones, but I have definately slept on beds that were much more uncomfortable and always at a much higher price point! That being said we definately plan on staying here on our next trip south as we enjoyed the hospitality of the staff alot!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oilersfaninvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

Stayed one night recently while picking up family at Bellingham Airport. Motel is perhaps a little older but seems well maintained and clean. Free wireless internet was quick and useful for us to check email and flight information. Easy access off the I5. The check in and checkout were very easy and the owners/desk clerks are very friendly and helpful. We thought the included continental breakfast was very good.

It is close to shopping and restaurants and we have no hesitation in recommending The Coachman. The nightly rate is reasonable for this class of motel and we rate it as excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davvos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night, and found it to be a pleasant stay.

Overall the room was dated, but really kept clean - bathroom was really clean as well, with new lino on the floor. Free wireless in-room is a nice bonus.

Continental breakfast is complimentary and consists of - packaged oatmeal, fresh fruit, hard-boiled eggs, bagels (cream cheese, honey, jam, butter),four different cold cereals, muffins and pastries, milk, coffee (with speciality creamers), orange juice, apple juice, bottled water. The staff was constantly refilling everything, and keeping the area tidy as people came and went.
So, for the price it is a really great value and the staff were really friendly.
The only down side is the proximity to the Freeway, it is a bit noisy. If you're picky like me, just bring earplugs and you'll get a decent night sleep.

This hotel IS for you if you are looking for:
Good value
Great, friendly service
Reasonable price

This hotel is NOT for you if you are looking for:
Modern style rooms/furnishings
Plush new bedding
Silent location

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

The Coachman Inn is on the strip just off the I5. I have to admit I was a little aprehensive at the curb -- I had Motel 6 or lower, expectations. The Coachman is not fancy but it is clean and the service is friendly. Everything worked. The non-smoking room was really a non-smoking room and the bed was reasonable. A single was $50/night. Breakfast included decent coffee and a boiled egg.

I'd stay here again

Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 3D_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 438 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#17 of 28 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Property: Coachman Inn
Address: 120 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-6097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coachman Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good quality rooms at a fair price. complementary breakfast, wireless internet, extended cable with 10 HBO channels, free local calls, Fitness center with Dry Sauna, heated swimming pool, and coin laundry on site. Clean and comfortable rooms and customer service at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coachman Hotel Bellingham
Coachman Motel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing