We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese food ever!”
Review of Szechuan Chef

Szechuan Chef
Ranked #113 of 546 Restaurants in Bellevue
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Magnolia, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food ever!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I don't know what else to say. I love Chinese food. My husband loves Chinese food. We eat it often at a lot of different places and this was simply the best we've ever encountered...better than anything in Chinatown in San Francisco or NYC. The menu was ridiculously full of choices and, with the exception of some of the dishes involving intestines, we wanted to try everything! The green onion pancake appetizer was scumptious and the chicken with string beans was simply one of the best things I've ever eaten anywhere. Service is a little slow...the atmosphere is very "strip-mall"...but it's totally worth a visit if you're anywhere nearby.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank nrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    11
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Inconsistent, few highlights”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Service is sometimes fast, sometimes slow and you have to beg for someone's attention, ask for a fork three times etc. Some of the dried chicken dishes are made with that stuff that's 90% goo and 10% chicken. The honey walnut chicken isn't, and it was great, so was the beef in gravy. Didn't like the mandarin spicy chicken at all as it was made with the 90% goo stuff. Last time I was there the service was really poor. Decor always been OK. Gotta find a new favorite Chinese place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

It was a perfect meal for the whole family! Seemed very authentic and had a varied menu. Pot stickers and egg rolls excellent. Great orange beef and shrimp.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Chow Mein not so great.”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I had beef chow mein and there was very little beef in it. I may have missed something when ordering but I've never had those kind of noodles in my chow mein. It made it too mushy. That may have been my fault.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ib4cruzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I wish this is where I live!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is one KILLER Szechuan restaurant..period...yes the decor is cheesy..so what? If you want mediocre food with fancy atmosphere, go somewhere else..no shortage in Seattle.

Yes service can be slow...Here..I will happily wait and watch the people scarfing food like crazy.
Every time I'm in the Sea-Tac area, I make a beeline for here..This place is very busy, and full of chinese people eating...battling the traffic and going out of your way is well worth it..

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CbluezBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Chef also viewed

 

Been to Szechuan Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing