We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inconsistent, few highlights” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Szechuan Chef

Szechuan Chef
Ranked #109 of 538 Restaurants in Bellevue
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Inconsistent, few highlights”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Service is sometimes fast, sometimes slow and you have to beg for someone's attention, ask for a fork three times etc. Some of the dried chicken dishes are made with that stuff that's 90% goo and 10% chicken. The honey walnut chicken isn't, and it was great, so was the beef in gravy. Didn't like the mandarin spicy chicken at all as it was made with the 90% goo stuff. Last time I was there the service was really poor. Decor always been OK. Gotta find a new favorite Chinese place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Skelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nevada, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

It was a perfect meal for the whole family! Seemed very authentic and had a varied menu. Pot stickers and egg rolls excellent. Great orange beef and shrimp.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Chow Mein not so great.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

I had beef chow mein and there was very little beef in it. I may have missed something when ordering but I've never had those kind of noodles in my chow mein. It made it too mushy. That may have been my fault.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ib4cruzn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlegar, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I wish this is where I live!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is one KILLER Szechuan restaurant..period...yes the decor is cheesy..so what? If you want mediocre food with fancy atmosphere, go somewhere else..no shortage in Seattle.

Yes service can be slow...Here..I will happily wait and watch the people scarfing food like crazy.
Every time I'm in the Sea-Tac area, I make a beeline for here..This place is very busy, and full of chinese people eating...battling the traffic and going out of your way is well worth it..

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CbluezBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Consistently good food. Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

The menu is interesting., The food is well prepared. You can order it mild or hot. The atmosphere is pleasant, a cut above the usual Asian restaurant. Service has always been good, and pleasant - with a smile.
We eat lunch here regularly. Even the complimentary tea is deelicious.
It is a little hard to find (projected until November 2011) because Kelsey Creek Shopping Center is being remodeled) but it is worth your while to make the effort.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laurabaxter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Chef also viewed

 

Been to Szechuan Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing