We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stale food and unpleasant hospitality” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Country Buffet - CLOSED

Old Country Buffet
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stale food and unpleasant hospitality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

To start with - the cashier is the most unpleasant host I ever saw. When asked how much is the Buffet, she pointed me at the Board and said its here. We started with the salads which are decent. Then there is a NEW Mongolian style, I donot know if they know what it is. They just kept everything in One plate and gave it back.
We did not order any drinks like SODA and just asked for Water. We could not find where the Water is and my friend got Coke instead. The waitress who is cleaning the soiled plates gave a shocked look and said, you have to go and pay NOW. They collected the Card right away. I donot know if they could not really wait till we complete our Meal.
The Deserts are too much of Sweet. They look good, but tastes very bad. Finally we suppressed our Hunger with some Broccoli and chips.

***** Definetly not recommended and not going to visit again. *****

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Truerevieweryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
154 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“AARP Chow Line”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Everything here is bland American fare in large quantities for people who just like lots of hot "food."

Helpful?
Thank GMak54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food taste old”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have been there a few times. Some food is ok but some just taste a bit old. We love the ice cream machine!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Breakfast on a Saturday morning.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stopped in about 9:00am on Saturday morning. The breakfast buffet was available and we paid and sat ourselves. The food appeared such as bisquits, pastries, and hashbrowns were very sparse. What was available was hard due to sitting there, when some replacements came in, it was greasy and bland. The coffee was bitter and the juice was not fresh. Our waitress came by and in a monotone voice said, "I am your waitress if you need anything let me know." However she disappeared and never saw her again. There did seem to be an omlette that could be ordered and prepared, but the sous chef was sitting at a table (for guests) and texting on her phone. We waited and she never got up to fix us an omlette.

In fact no one seemed interested in any of the customers.

Perhaps we visited on a bad Saturday morning. We honestly could not eat anything that was there. We had already paid, so we left and went to breakfast elsewhere.

We will not be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orting, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good price for large group”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

it was ok place to go if you got large group and don't have to worry about paying 18% forced tip.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elwira W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Country Buffet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing