We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid barbecue in an industrial setting!”
Review of Dixie's BBQ

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dixie's BBQ
Ranked #372 of 543 Restaurants in Bellevue
Price range: $1 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
238 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Solid barbecue in an industrial setting!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A revered institution on Seattle's eastside, Dixie's is famous for serving up a hot sauce (dubbed "The Man") that will blast your socks off. Food is good and filling - best to arrive early for lunch to avoid the line (and also because occasionally they run out of barbecue). Setting (in an automechanics compound nestled under the 520) is charming in an industrial way - both indoor and outdoor seating available to accomodate Pacific Northwest weather.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank brocdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    18
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place is not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place is not as good as it used to be.
the worst part of the dining experience was the service, by far.
Quality of the food went down as well. And since Gene is no longer there there is no fun to come back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MACTEP2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food pretty Good; Man Sauce- Ridiculous!!! :-)”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food was good at this tight little spot in Bellevue- I have had better, but I certainly have had worse. The highlight of the meal was a little friendly boy who sat outside while his mom worked inside. His warning of the man sauce was a life saver lol. Sooner or later a man walks out with a pot of "man sauce"- try it if you dare- it is hotter than any restaurant sauce I have ever had, and I am an avid hot sauce lover. Be warned- but be brave. Try also the lemon cake which is delicious!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jays0nT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beef Brisket”
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

I had not been to Dixie's in years. Business associate was in town the other and wanted to go. We arrived after the lunch crowd which made our wait time short. I ordered beef brisket dinner. It is a lot of food! Best BBQ beef brisket I have had. I had it for lunch the next day. Wednesdays they have baked beans as a side dish, yummy. The corn bread is very good as is the lemon cake served as your dessert item. Will have to go more often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
156 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Still very good”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Went to Dixie's today. The bbq was still very good. We went late so they were out of potato salad. Had the pork. My colleague had the 520. A complete food overload. Won't be eating dinner tonight.

Love the environment - totally unpretentious.

Didn't have "the man" though.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lronn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dixie's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Dixie's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing