We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent thai food.”

Chantanee Thai Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #83 of 551 Restaurants in Bellevue
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NE 6TH ST
Transit: Bellevue Transit Center
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent thai food.”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The waiter was very helpful, the food was great, and in ample supply. A very good dining experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank homebre973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    46
    22
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Friday must be cook's night off!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I rarely review restaurants, but this was truly disappointing. In the case of Chantanee, I have given it several chances based on TripAdvisor recommendations. Over a period of a few years, Chantanee has ranged from passable to reasonably good. Tonight, I found myself in the neighborhood and walked in. It was a Friday night. The restaurant was about 2/3 full.

Ordering the crab stuffed fried wonton for a starter, the only real taste was fried wonton. The stuffing could have been cream cheese or toothpaste, but no discernable taste of the elusive crab. The lamb massaman curry entre arrived almost a full hour after it was ordered. The obviously distressed waitress offered another drink to mollify me - it was also on the bill.

Sadly, the curry was really pretty awful. The lamb had seemingly died of old age and was further insulted by over cooking. The curry itself was insipid. No attempt, was given to disguise its vintage or to "freshen it up".

I occasionally throw caution to the wind and ordered "4 star" heat. I need not have worried. The amount of picante in the curry would have passed at Gerber's. Asian restaurants of all stripes should understand rice - even brown rice which in this case was over cooked to gumminess.

Do not tell my mother, but I left the meal half-eaten - probably an all-time first.

Enough is enough. Sa wat dee Chantanee.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food and good ambience”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Good food ,good cocktail menu .
And the best part is the open /outside seatings for good weathered days.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank NilayNeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Yummy Mango/Rice Dessert”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Average restaurant but they do have the yummy mango/rice dessert! Well worth the parking hassle just for the dessert. IF you can walk - walk there. If not, enjoy the parking maze! Nice staff.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food at very reasonable prices”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Two words... Garlic Chicken... Wow, it is amazing. My wife and I went there about three months ago and I still talk about how good it was. Also, make sure to try the calamari appetizers as they are excellent as well.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank durakote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chantanee Thai Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Chantanee Thai Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing