We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere, Great Music, Good Food”
Review of Bake's Place

Bake's Place
Reserve with OpenTable
Bake's Place is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 543 Restaurants in Bellevue
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Craig & Laura Baker are seasoned veterans in the food, beverage & entertainment business. In the course of 14 ½ years, they have taken Bake’s Place from a small private jazz club to one of the top live music establishments in the world. What sets Craig apart is his forty plus years in the music & entertainment business. Craig has a demonstrated talent & passion for presenting great music in an atmosphere where the music & the musicians are elevated & given the respect they deserve. Craig has a solid reputation for building strong rapports with both musicians & the audiences he serves. Laura Baker has over 16 years of experience in the culinary industry. She was the founder of the successful catering business A Friend in the Kitchen which provided services for large weddings, corporate functions, small, in-home dinners & special events.
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Great Music, Good Food”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I've now been to all (?) of Craig Baker's locations over the years - originally when he operated out of his home, then after he moved & expanded to Providence point, and now at his Bellevue location. This is the best location to date - plenty of room (both indoors, outside as well as decent balcony seating) yet intimate with great views from everywhere of the stage area, and excellent acoustics.

The music was great (by Ventura Highway Revisited - a quite talented group), the food was good (I attended during a private function so the menu was pre-established, with both floating service as well as buffet style), with several items being top notch (such as the spring rolls and beef skewers) and some ranking slightly above average (flat breads, pork sliders). Wait staff as well as bar service were both attentive and Craig was an excellent host who demonstrated a depth of knowledge about many fine scotches, ryes and whiskey's.

I look forward to visiting again soon during a typical open house evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank plcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    34
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time overall”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We visited Bake's Place for a night out on the town. The Charles Mack Band was playing, and they were very entertaining. There was a $15.00 cover per person, but the experience and band were well worth the price. The setting is very intimate and quaint. Our server was great, Salvatore. The food was good. We had the filet bites and ceviche for app's. The filet mignon and trout entrees were very good. We would highly recommend this restaurant to friends or tourists.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Must Have Been An Off Night (?)”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We came to Bake's Place for an evening with a favorite entertainer (GeoffreyCastle) and, while the entertainment lived up to our expectation, the food didn't come close. Just a tip about the cover charge too:

An appetizer plate of steak strips could best be described as meager (but expensive). The Gorgonzola Chicken Prosciutto Papardelle ordered by 3 of us was barely edible (pasta was mostly cold and sticky, chicken was the texture of jerky, leaving the almost invisible prosciutto to support the dish). It really needed some more sauce. On the positive, the portion served was just right, not excessive like you get at many Italian-style restaurants. It was just hard to eat. The fish and chips plate was tiny and the fish nothing special. You get better at Ivar's.

The house white wine was pleasing and worth a second glass. Service was good, the restaurant is well-staffed and our waitress was pleasant and paid attention to us.

On the restaurant's web site if you book a table on-line your cover charge is reduced by $5. However, 2 members of our party of 4 had to pay $20 for showing up separately. This needs to be managed better. It is also possible, albeit unlikely (since you wouldn't expect someone to show up at this location by accident), that someone could arrive a couple hours before the show, pay a cover charge, and be done with their meal before the entertainer ever shows up. The maître d' did do a good job of letting people know this and, predictably, a couple of groups did turn around and head elsewhere.

Finally, a note about the location. This is a place you have to find, it doesn't stick out on the street. The free parking mentioned elsewhere is nice but it's in the next block behind the restaurant and in the last of 3 possible parking garages one could pull into (the other two belonging to another restaurant and condo complex). It's not easy. Maybe in the future valet parking will be implemented.

So if you show up on a night when all cylinders are firing, this would probably be a really memorable experience. But for us, we were just happy that the entertainment was first class.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank themolitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food. Great service. Pleasant atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Keep it up! Mac and cheese and dates w bacon were superb! Drinks were a pleasant surprise. Staff were very friendly...great job!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Shake and Bake!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Wow! what a truly un-expected and pleasant surprise, right in the center of Bellevue! only steps away from Neiman Marcus (my hang-out in Bellevue), yet I, nor anyone in the store, was aware of it. Amazing. First of all, there is FREE
parking (not usually easy to find) in the Underground parking after 6 PM. (Just bring your ticket in to be stamped) So, yes, it is in a modern Office building., something that would usually put me off, but I had heard, and read on their website
good things about Bake's Place, and ignored that. Once, you "turn the corner"
(depending on which entrance you use). from the street entrance, you go through
their VERY LOVELY PATIO! and see an amazing and modern lighting wall, which
is the backdrop for the 7 days a week LIVE ENTERTAINMENT! (which was the
main reason I went there) I had a girlfriend, who is herself a singer/entertainer, meet me there. We were BOTH very impressed! By both the ambiance, the people, and the food, which was much better than I would have expected. The vibe is VERY good, and the friendly-ness, and happiness that clearly emanates from ALL the staff, is palpable. The Live entertainment and band was both good, and fun, and encouraged us to dance. At the end of the evening, we where ALL up on our feet dancing through the entire restaurant to the "Love Train". Made for easy conversation, and making of new friends. The Owner, Craig, and his lovely daughter, Christin, clearly set the tone for the friendly atmosphere. I, and my friend(s), will definitely be returning soon. Very Happy to have found a great place to go in Bellevue/Seattle. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FrenchQueen44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bake's Place also viewed

 

Been to Bake's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing