We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service…hit and miss food”
Review of Cantinetta

Cantinetta
Reserve with OpenTable
Cantinetta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 546 Restaurants in Bellevue
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great service…hit and miss food”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We got to Cantinetta a little bit before 6pm (since we on a tight timeline with our babysitter). And boy were we glad we got there early! But 6:30 the place was packed! When we left around 8:15 there was about 40 people all eagerly eyeballing our table. So get there earlier - especially since they don't take reservations for parties smaller than 6.

The service was exceptional. Attentive without being overbearing.

The food was hit and miss. The menu is a bit pretentious. A lot of Italian and advanced Top Chef words. The steak was beyond delish. But both pasta dishes we got were a miss. We got a salad to start and it was incredibly disappointing. The kale was fantastic. Everything we got a recommendation from the waitress on was great, but everything else was less than impressive. So make sure to ask for recommendations!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mathmagican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    25
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Average food, crappy service”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Table of 7, sluggish gnocchi, overlooked tagliatelle, ridiculously small appetizers.
To be fair, very good deserts.
One way to get away with it is great service, which did not happen. Had to wave to catch attention, which made us feel as if we were back home (we re French!). A smile would have helped, but was nowhere to be seen...

Helpful?
Thank KENduSud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue WA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Italian fare”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Good Italian menu, can be noisy when crowded, popular bar. Great location on Main Street in Bellevue WA

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great cocktails!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were eat so sat at the bar and had some great cocktails. Barman can rustle up pretty much anything you want and they were great. Super food although ambience wasn't fantastic, weirdly arranged tables but overall had a great evening!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TalktoPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Great Pasta, Wine, & Service,”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

More urban trendy than Italian Cantina in décor. Very good wine list. BIG SURPRISE...REASONABLE MARKUPS. Service was prompt and professional, with no attempt to rush us, even with kids. We shared several antipasti...melon with bruschetta, mozzarella and tomatoes...all were superb. The pasta dishes were as good as the reputation...great flavor in the Bolognese sauce, and their version of a carbonara really wasn't. but it was very good nonetheless. Lots of hard surfaces made it noisy, but we had two kids with us and it didn't matter. We'll come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OldDukeDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantinetta also viewed

 

Been to Cantinetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing