We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food”

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 546 Restaurants in Bellevue
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NE 4th St.
Description: Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We usually come to Purple for a good meal the day before or after Seahawks games because the food always hits the spot. My wife always orders the prawns and frites because its a dish we cannot find anyplace else and is delicious. The service is always friendly and we can always find something we like on the menu because it has a variety of dishes and a range of prices. We've been here a dozen times and never leave disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRUCE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    108
    30
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Wa
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but not memorable”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I went there for a group Christmas lunch with roughly 20 people. We used the private area in the back. Food was pretty good...actually the pizza marinara I had was was very good. The rest of the food was primarily finger food.

The acoustics in the restaurant are difficult. It's hard to hear people without almost raising your voice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank King06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good bar/restaurant with good wines”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very nice pasta dish with prosciutto and shrimps. Service was good and there was a good reasonably priced wine selection. Let down by very noisy group nearby who should have been asked to quieten down by the staff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeoffreyAllix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Vibrant lunch!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lotsa people = good food. Had two great meals during my one week stay in the Seattle are, ate at the Bellevue and Woodinville locations. Very popular restaurant it seems, was full at lunch and at dinner venue, the risotto had maybe more mushrooms than actual risotto in it, but the rest was A+, the caramel chocolates with salt at the end of the meal were to die for!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank marquestra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Slick and Classy”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have eaten at Purple Cafe and Wine Bar in Bellevue on several occasions, from two person dinners to family gatherings. It is a slick and classy establishment with very good food and an amazing wine selection. You are surrounded by the wine collection. The venue is high class in an industrial sort of way, lots of steel and concrete. That leads to the downside. Hard surfaces everywhere makes the restaurant noisy, and given its popularity, it makes conversation difficult.

The menu is somewhat limited, but has selections in a range of price options. A daily fresh sheet is always attached to the menus. Everything I have had has been good. Service is efficient and personal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Purple Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing