We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, but nothing fancy”

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 543 Restaurants in Bellevue
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NE 4th St.
Description: Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent, but nothing fancy”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Went for team lunch. Had the gorgonzola and pancetta pasta. A bit pricey for what you get.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxsoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    107
    30
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, WI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice lunch offerings!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Met family there for a late lunch. Everyone ordered something different, as they had a really nice selection of salads and sandwiches. They also have an interesting wine list, from which we sampled a few by the glass. Nice modern decor with an industrial wine type of look. A little snafu at the start with seating us where the hostess took off and didn't return (an another employee ended up seating us). Overall a nice relaxing lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wis.gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“decent food...not worth the price”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

If you go to Purple, go for wine and appetizers. They have amazing cheese platters and great appetizers in general. Also great wine list. Their entrees are pretty awful though; my father got fish that was literally in a bowl of oil...it was disgusting. I got some type of chicken that was super dry and gross. Also really overpriced for what we got. Wouldn't recommend for dinner, but good for wine and snacks.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sorry, only So-So”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

* This visit took place in February 2012

It was our first time to Bellevue, we definitely wanted to try a restaurant that is well known in the area. Some Twitter followers of mine have suggested Purple as a "must visit." Walking in, I thought the vibe was wonderful. We were sat at a small table with very strong lighting so I didn't like that at all. I was hoping we could be sat in a booth since we came in at 9:30pm and it wasn't busy at all.

The extensive wine list was wonderful though as we both ordered a glass of pinot gris. The calamari was unfortunately very chewy, the lamb empenada bites were only okay, and the sausage pizza was cold by the time it got to our table. To be honest, the food didn't wow us.

Our server Hannah was very nice but it did take a long time for food to be served up as we went to the restaurant at 9:30pm, it really wasn't that busy.

Did voice my opinion through Opentable and they have provided us a giftcard to try any restaurants in their chain - so hopefully next time it might be better?

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy Candy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
682 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 548 helpful votes
“nice decor”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I went here with a group of business associates for dinner. First thing to note is the interesting decor, starting with the huge metal swirling walls that closed in several booths. Then there is the spiral staircases and catwalks up to thousands bottles of wine - quite something. Obviously they had a fantastic wine list.

We tried several appetizers and they were very good. The main courses were good but I wouldn't rate them as exceptional. As some other reviewers noted, it was cold and windy as there were industrial size air conditioning vents above the table.

There was outdoor seating but on a main street so not the quitest place to eat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Purple Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing