We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignored, forgotten about, disappointed”

The Melting Pot - Bellevue
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot - Bellevue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #133 of 604 Restaurants in Bellevue
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Located one block from the Bellevue Transit Center on 108th Ave NE
Description: Dip Into Something Different
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have given this location more than a couple of chances to redeem it's self, but no such luck. This last time we went was for my 17 year old's birthday celebration (not my choice after the last horrible experience) and was quite disappointing. We were seated 20 minutes past our reservation time, it was obvious they weren't busy and had ample staff on hand. We discussed with our waitress that our party did not want the same cheese fondue and she assured us that we could do two different kinds with out any additional fee, because we were willing to take a smaller portion. Well she brought us her favorite, when we specifically stated which fondue we wanted first, and her favorite was not it. After waiting for 15 minutes for drink refills, she brought out my daughter's entree. We asked our waitress about our other cheese fondue and she proceeded to tell us that she would have to charge us additionally because we didn't reserve a 2 burner table when we made our reservation. I told her I was confused because she made it clear when we ordered that we would be able to have both, she just shrugged her shoulders and gave us a snide "sorry" as she walked off. We continued to wait 15-20 minutes for water refills until our waitress brought out our dessert. The portions for our dessert were ridiculous, some items we only had one of to "share". Where we had absolutely no cheese fondue left, we had plenty of chocolate. While we were waiting for our gift certificate to be honored we noticed how filthy the walls were around us, and amazed with how ignored we were throughout our meal. It took 20 minutes for the very rude manager (Michael) on shift to honor our gift certificate and for the waitress to bring back our change. In the time she was gone the girl who was busing tables came by 3 times to see if she could get us anything while we waited (someone needs to give that amazing girl a job more than clean up!), still wondering why our waitress couldn't have done that the whole hour and a half almost 2 hours we were there. To make this long story short, this location is awful, try the Seattle location and stay away from this one.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JoleneRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 115 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2018

We found in our visit to the Melting Pot in Bellevue that the staff and management were not responsive to our problems. We liked not being rushed and having a long time to enjoy others company. Our waiter was personable

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jones13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2018

We love going to The Melting Pot with our family for special occasions. The food is always very good, the service is very attentive although not as much when it's very busy, and I find that all of us are more engaged in the meal and we interact more since we work as a team to time the cooking of our food and share from each other's plates. Our favorite sauce is the Green Goddess sauce. We enjoy it with the vegetables and the meats like chicken and steak, too. We had the milk chocolate fondue for dessert. The company no longer offers free dessert food refills, but we barely finished the food before the chocolate was gone and we all had enough to eat. We ordered 2 Big Night Out four-course meals, an additional shrimp side and added one additional portion for dessert. It was plenty for the four of us (2 adults, 1 17yo, 1 11yo). This is one way to cut down on the cost since the prices are high.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jcliffeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017

Do not even think about going here unless you are prepared to part with a lot of money and time in return for not much food that you have to cook yourself. Back story: A small group of us get together from time to time for happy hour at different restaurants around the area, and for our last gathering we thought we would try The Melting Pot. BIG MISTAKE. We found a parking spot and that was the end of the good part. Even walking from the parking garage to the restaurant, if you wanted to stay out of the rain, you had to duck and dodge the hanging baskets. Why they could not raise them 18 inches is beyond me. We got there and saw a small bar with a few stools, but as there was no way could converse spread out like that, we asked for a table. I had looked at the menu online and saw that it cost (with tax, surcharge and tip) well over $50 each for supper (if you have nothing to drink but water), if you have drinks, plan on adding about $30 per two drinks to that amount. And it takes 2 1/2 hours to eat. We figured that we would not be able to afford that, but the Melting Hour (how cute) would not break our budgets and we should be able to spend a while catching up and then go home. When the waitress (a nice lady) showed up to take our order, we explained that we just wanted to do the happy hour thing and that we didn't have the time or money for the whole $120 (with tax, surcharge and tip) per couple experience. She informed us that we had to move to the bar stools if we wanted just the Melting Hour menu. She then explained that we could do a "create-your-own" meal that was just one course, or we could have a salad if we wanted and stay at the table. She again offered to move us to the bar stools if we wanted to just do the less costly happy hour bit. So three of us decided to try the "create-your-own" route and the rest had just a salad. One couple added salads to their "c-y-o" meal. Long story short, when we left, the couple who added the salad parted with $100, the those who split a "c-y-o" and salad, it was close to $60. (bigger tip) AND, we were all still hungry when we left and had to fix ourselves something to eat when we got home. All in all, I would have to say that this place is the biggest scam of all the eating places in Bellevue. I have thought it over and decided that I would go again under two conditions. 1) Someone I did not like was paying for the dinner, and 2) that I was paid an amount equal to the bill just to put up with the place. Pick a restaurant, any restaurant in Bellevue and you can get more and better food at a more reasonable price, and have a more enjoyable occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Apoet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Public Relations Manager at The Melting Pot - Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2017

Hi There,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We're sorry to hear that sitting in our bar for Melting Hour simply did not work out. In the future, I'd recommend looking out for one of our promotions, such as Endless Fondue, which is a more economical dining option. We run it a four or five times a year and we offer a four-course dinner with an endless entree for $39 per person.

Cheers,
Amanda Lybeck
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017

The melting pot serves fondue -- cheese, meat/fish, and dessert. Their serving size is big. So bring good appetite, or order less.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda L, Public Relations Manager at The Melting Pot - Bellevue, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Hi K T,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us - and yes, we definitely recommend bringing your appetite!! We hope you'll dip with us again soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Lybeck
Marketing Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot - Bellevue also viewed

 

Been to The Melting Pot - Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;