We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Asian Fusion”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monsoon

Monsoon
Ranked #20 of 540 Restaurants in Bellevue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Asian Fusion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

A friend of mine turned me on to this place a couple of weeks ago and we've been back about 4 times since. Today, I had the duck confit banh mi which, if you have ever been to Paseo in Fremont is like the Asian version of those amazing Cuban sandwiches. The sandwich had many layers of different flavors and textures that melded together to make a dripping and savory sandwich. Other favorites are the combo noodle bowl with lemongrass chicken, leaf-wrapped beef, shrimp, and Vietnamese sausage rolls which gives you just enough of a variety of flavors to make a perfect lunch. Add a fried egg to it like they do with the Drunken Chicken and you have a winner. Speaking of the Drunken Chicken, I would highly recommend it, but suggest that you split it with someone. Not because of the amount of food, but something about it tends to upset the stomach. I will say, though, that it is worth the little bit of discomfort.

The service thus far has been very good with attentive and courteous wait staff. The ambiance is also nice though the tables could be spaced for a bit more privacy. If the place is crowded it feels like you're virtually at the same table as the people next to you.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dino-pravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    51
    8
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The search for Mangsalita Pork is here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

I came here for the Mangsalita pork and it was quit a experience. You can't find this pork at any restaurant. It is hard to find this particular pork. It was so good. We had oyster and the sauce that come with it was so good with my beer. We order the curry prawn and we love it. The curry was amazing. The egg noodle was stir fry to perfection. Everything was well season and not greasy. The service by Yen was outstanding. I'm Vietnamese and I approve. This is not a typical Pho joint or family dining. This is high class chef at it's best. Don't expect large portion for the price. This place is about the quality of each dish. People may call it Vietnamese fusion, it not. We came back in the morning for Wagyu Beef Pho. The stock was rich in beef flavor. We then order the Bo La Lot and it was pack with flavor. This place knock my socks off. We left this place $200 bill for 4 people but was happy we ate here and will come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jooony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Asia fusion food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Unique food, the vege roll is great, I like the clams Pot. The pork belly is delicious. Happy hour is all day and the price is very reasonable. Hard to find parking on Main Street but there are plenty of parking at the garage, the back of the building. Great wine list and it has a small oyster bar and very fresh.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Modern Pacific Rim”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The food is great, innovative and changes often; but it's hard to call it Vietnamese.
Monsoon has so many dishes and tastes that it seems more accurate to call it Pacific Rim cuisine with a modern twist.
Whatever you call it, it's great!
There's always something new and seasonal.
Great wine list that pairs well with their food.
Very nice bar, unique drinks, fun happy hour and definitley a place you could end up having a casual dinner.
Located on Main Street with other great restaurants.
It's a place that you'll try and be surprised how much you like it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
186 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Alright food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We went there during Seattle restaurant week where you get 3 course meals for a discount. I had the vermicelli prawn dish which was good and came some delicious deep fried rolls. My wife ordered the chicken dish which was pretty greasy.

The appetizer was a salad which wasnt bad. For desert the only thing appealing on the menu was the banana one. The chocolate gnache was the worst I have ever tasted.

Liked the service. All in all not too bad for the price we paid.

The ambience is good.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_ferocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon also viewed

 

Been to Monsoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing