We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite restaurant stop of the trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hungry Bear Cafe, Motel & RV Park

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hungry Bear Cafe, Motel & RV Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver
USA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant stop of the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Of the four restaurants I ate in at/around the Forks area, this was my favorite. I ordered a salmon burger with a salad and was satisfied. The salmon tasted a little like what I buy and prepare for myself at home. Normally, I'd expect something more fresh, but for the area and because it reminded me of what I make at home, I was happy enough. The side salad was especially good. I really liked the mix of vegetables in it. My friend had salad and a shrimp basket. She received a HUGE portion (see pictures).

My friend felt like service was a bit slow. I tend to agree, but I thought it was decent nevertheless. The waitress was friendly and helpful and took care of us. I give her extra consideration because she was the only one on the floor for much of the time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lanakoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
13
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The peninsula was in the middle of peak tourist season and we couldn't find a place anywhere!! Hungry Bear Motel was "recommended" as a last possible accommodation for the area.

We arrived late, and had to pick up the key from the restaurant. Not exactly friendly reception, but it was after 1030p...On entering our room #2, found two double beds, nightstand in between, a TV that didn't work and a fairly newly updated shower area. This room has seen a lot of travelers...my compliments on cleanliness. No extra amenities.

Furniture and bed worn. Mattresses sag and squeak...probably would of slept better on the floor. Shower stall is small, really small, but a strong stream of hot water offsets the lack of space to move around in. Towels and sheets are thin, but do the job.

Motel is right off the highway, there is road noise. Parking is motel-style, right in front of the bank of rooms. Tables and chairs located outside the room in a grassy area to sit and watch the passing cars.

for morning coffee walked over to the restaurant for a cup to go. Free if your staying at motel. Didn't eat there, forgot my Tums..

For this experience we paid $85 dollars. If the motel changed out their mattresses, it would be a decent place to stay...maybe even cute (in a rustic, one step up from camping sorta way) !!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaVidaLoca505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beaver hotels

Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Walked in with my kids and a friend and her children. We had just come from hiking at Rialto. The server didn't smile or greet us. The server seemed even more irritated when my friend asked for a rag because the table we were seated at had not been cleaned. It wasn't busy. There were only about three guys there sipping beer in camo's. But the server seemed more interested in chatting with the men at the bar than serving any other customers. She didn't even crack a smile or a surly "sorry" when i had to ask for ice water AFTER we received our food. I had ordered a French Dip, the rest of the group ordered burgers, which looked fine. The fries were all right but nothing to scream about. My Dip, while piled with meat, half was over cooked and dry. This receives one extra star because the cook came out as we were leaving and was very nice and polite.

I cannot speak for the lodging, but the restaurant was terrible. Maybe if you are a guy coming back from a hunting trip and just want a beer, the server might flirt with you and maybe even squeeze out a smile.

Room Tip: Just don't
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ainoku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I'll start with a compliment: the fries are hand cut, fresh and as good as my grandmothers (and that's pretty darn good). The fries were literally the only good thing about this place. I got a 1/4 lb burger. The quality of the meat was terrible, gristly and chewy. The tomatoes, pickle and lettuce were fresh but the bun was soggy within a minute of receiving my meal. My hands were covered in special sauce in no time. Yuck! The decor was country kitsch meets sticky dive bar, which was more than a little creepy. The waitress was nice, but service was slow and the 3-4 people working there stood around talking to each other a lot (other than the cook, who seemed legitimately busy as each meal is cooked to order). It was lunch time, and I only got a water, but paid $10.95 for my gross burger. I stopped here because I had spent the morning hiking in the Hoh Rainforest and was very hungry, but I wish I would have waited to get to Port Angeles where there were a number of more highly recommended restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inwood, West Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

What a nice, old-fashioned, cozy stay. The room had a kitchette & was very clean & tidy--fresh linens every day, & pleasant surroundings, central to Olympic National Park.The innkeepers are AWESOME!! They told us about "out-of -the-way places to hike around Olympic National Parkk--we saw so much that isn't in the "tourbooks".

Room Tip: we stayed in the big room with a kitchenette & our daughter had an adjoining room--very clean &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

This little place was quite a gem. For those traveling from Seattle, it's a perfect location to stop for the day after hitting up Hurricane Ridge and Sul Doc. The room was very quaint with a log-style design and had all the utilities and amenities needed for a comfortable stay. It was very clean and comfortable beds, TV + satellite, warm showers, functional internet connectivity, nice thick carpet, etc. The owner, a very hospitable old lady, was very accommodating and also runs a nice diner where you can grab a quick breakfast in the morning before continuing through the rest of the beautiful Olympic National Park.

Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Saket1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Overpriced doesn't even begin to describe this place. Black and green lumps of mold on the walk and doorstep, dirty sheets with no one in the motel office after 8pm so no one could change them and a pervasive smell of insecticide and mold in the room. Sadly, we were forced to stay here when Sol Duc was unable to honor our reservation. The $75 price is outrageous but since we were the ony couple staying there that night, I guess they wanted to make as much money as possible. We slept in our clothes out of concern for what we might be exposed to in the dirty bed. One window could not be opened as it was broken and we opened the front window to try to rid the place of the moldy smell. Do not subject you or your family to this. Keep driving.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaver
10.3 mi away
Forks Motel
Forks Motel
#5 of 5 in Forks
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
13.6 mi away
Van Riper's Resort
Van Riper's Resort
#1 of 5 in Sekiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Pacific Inn Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Dew Drop Inn Motel
9.3 mi away
Huckleberry Lodge Cabins
21.1 mi away
Lake Crescent Lodge
Lake Crescent Lodge
#1 of 15 in Olympic National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hungry Bear Cafe, Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hungry Bear Cafe, Motel & RV Park

Property: Hungry Bear Cafe, Motel & RV Park
Address: Milepost 206, Beaver, WA 98305
Location: United States > Washington > Beaver
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing