We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doc's Marina Grill

Doc's Marina Grill
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Grill, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family friendly and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a wonderful place for a family or large group to enjoy a meal. Casual, unhurried atmosphere and good food for the cost. The menu is varied -seafood salads, fish and chips, well prepared salmon. The wait staff is friendly and helpful. It's not fine dining but that is not always what is wanted.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    145
    72
    20
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
134 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very accomodating to allergy and food excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

My husband and I went in for a late lunch early dinner on a Sunday afternoon. I called ahead from the ferry and asked for a table to be held near the door as my husband had just had a stroke and could not walk far. No problem. They were so nice, they held the very closest table for us. My husband has allergies and they were so nice to talk to the chef to make him scallops without the sauces in the way they do it on the menu. The food was wonderful and the service was excellent. Thanks for all you did for us! We will be back again soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SQCASTAWAYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
402 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“Yuk!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Live on Bainbridge Island and have tried Doc's three times. Don't ask me why because the service and food is below par (and I am being polite). The restaurant has a nice bar and it is a fun place to watch a sporting event. However, as the other reviews indicate, the food is almost inedible and the service is so slow as to drive you crazy.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great view, so-so experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've eaten at this restaurant 3 times: once for business and twice for leisure. I would not go here again for business. The wait was really long at lunch time--perhaps 45 minutes? It just wasn't practical. For leisure, the setting is nice because it looks over the marina. The food is just ok, and it's fairly expensive (I guess you pay for the view) for what it is. I want to like Doc's Marina Grill more, but it's an ordeal to wait for a table, then wait for the service, especially when there are children in the group.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dmresource
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
113 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Service?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

How can it take 45 minutes to prepare bacon and eggs?
We continue to try Doc's for breakfast on Sunday mornings and they continue to disappoint. The quality of the food is ok but the inconsistent service is awful. They blame it on the transition time between breakfast and lunch. They've been using that excuse for three years. Figure out your staffing and we'll give it one more try ---- in two years!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank santagaryfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc's Marina Grill also viewed

 
Bainbridge Island, WA
Bainbridge Island, WA
 

Been to Doc's Marina Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing