We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elite dining for the discriminating”
Review of The Four Swallows Restaurant - CLOSED

The Four Swallows Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $40
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bainbridge Is WA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Elite dining for the discriminating”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Intimate dining with upscale menu. Small venue in an old house. Walking distance from downtown Winslow on Bainbridge Island. If you are a walk-on ferry passenger from Seattle, it will be a hearty trek of about 16 blocks.
Reservations a must. A bit pricy..but worth it for a special occasion.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmac7303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    13
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine European dining on Puget Sound Island”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband I just returned from a 3 week sojourn in France. And truly we have the very best here on Bainbridge. Incredibly well prepared fine cuisine...salmon and steak...that would rival a Michelin 4 star. Yes, the tariff is on the expensive side, but worth every cent. An extensive wine selection, incredible desserts, tasty starters/entrees, and incomparable main dishes. Every special occasion is made more special by dining at the Four Swallows.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MyFrenchAffair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding from start to finish”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This lovely restaurant was highly recommended by locals, and it didn't disappoint at all. The atmosphere is casual but elegant. Think jeans and perfectly prepared beef tenderloin. The items on the menu include many local items, the heirloom tomato soup was divine! The staff is attentive and friendly, and makes every effort to make the meal relaxing. The prices are reasonable for the quality of the food, and I strongly recommend saving room for dessert. I will definitely keep the Four Swallows on my list of "return to" restaurants.

You may want to consider making a reservation, especially for larger groups, or prime dining hours.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lig24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The best on the island!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

On our inaugural trip to Bainbridge Island, we stopped a local and asked her to recommend a restaurant. She said this was the best place, and we are so happy we followed her recommendation! Our waiter was very knowledgeable and helped pair each of our courses with just the right wine. Our meal-- from the antipasto appetizer to the salad to the beef tenderloin to the apple tart-- was obviously made with great care and attention. The flavors were exquisite. What an awesome find, and it did not break the bank. Make this a stop on your trip-- you won't be sorry!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
637 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 851 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are really glad to observe that our long time favorite is busier than ever, despite increased competition in this small community. The atmosphere here is part of the charm and the service always excellent. Some of the staff have been serving us for years and remember our preferences. This year a full bar with cocktails has enhanced the experience, along with good appetizer choices.
You can't go wrong with their pasta courses but the filet steak at the top of the price list is one of the best steaks anywhere. Mussels under appetizers can satisfy most people as a main course.
Freshly baked focaccia is wonderful, as are pizzas.
The owners operate a first rate restaurant and obviously care about their customers.

Helpful?
Thank Malice6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Four Swallows Restaurant also viewed

 
Bainbridge Island, WA
 
Bainbridge Island, WA
Bainbridge Island, WA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing