We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Bloedel Reserve
from $175.00
More Info
from $279.00
More Info
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveler rating
461
82
10
8
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
461
82
10
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese garden the main house beautiful grounds downtown seattle ferry ride mansion nature meadows property trees moss pond preserve northwest senses admission path
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 562 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2019

The Bloedel Reserve is gorgeous. However, it's around $17/person do complete a 2 mile loop. The trails are wide with packed ground cover where you can push a stroller/wheelchair if it's not raining hard. For those who are more immobile, there is a golf cart that the staff can drive you to a few tranquil places for you to enjoy.

The Japanese garden was extremely unimpressive.

There are water fountains and bathrooms available.

This is a place that I would maybe visit once and then never again. It was nice but not memorable, especially for the price.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2019

Despite the ferry ride from downtown, this place is a must if you are in the area. The woods are gorgeous and the views stunning. Definitely worth a repeat. Note that the place is partly ADA compliant. Only gripe: Clearly the architect of the Japanese gazebo was never in Japan...

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank GourmandTrashPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2019

Love Bloedel Reserve. So beautiful, so peaceful. A nice couple of hours walk. Native plants and exotics. Good for families. Food not allowed. Beautiful in every season, Spring flowers, Autumn colors, Winter and Summer. At Christmas there is a train display in the French Chateau. We go over and over.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank GardeningGrammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2019 via mobile

I visit beautiful gardens all over the world but the Bloedel Reserve is the first one that made me feel jealous. Designed by a private family, it has a two miles walking path that takes you through a variety of gardens that include pastures, a water garden, a woodland garden, a beautiful Japanese garden, an estate garden, and so much more. The plantings are specimen plants throughout that are lovingly cared for. Plane two to three hours there.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank ronak993
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2019

My daughter and I recently visited Bainbridge Island while in Washington, and were looking for a nice place to get in a good walk. I had read about Bloedel Reserve and am so glad we had the chance to go here. It was THE perfect place to take a leisurely, quiet walk and see some beautiful nature. My daughter and I were delighted with how quiet, peaceful and serene it was. The Japanese house and gardens were such a nice surprise .... we have a request for parents though. PLEASE remember that there are people there who want to enjoy the beauty of Mother Nature, including the Japanese house and gardens. It's not really a place for kids to run, scream and chase each other. Kind of puts a damper on the day for others. Just saying ;-)

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank AmeliaKarenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews