We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent outdoor site”
Review of Bloedel Reserve

Bloedel Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent outdoor site”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had glorious autumn sunshine for this trek through one of the most interesting preserves that we've visited anywhere. Parts of the 90 minute walk seem to be in a rain forest. Heavily wooded with outstanding plantings. Several vistas of the Olympic Range mountains. Japanese gardens. Tranquil and peaceful, with full range of local forest, flora and fauna overhead, underfoot and surrounding the trails. We loved it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    63
    4
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
617 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“An Amazing Oasis on Bainbridge Island”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have been here a few times and the tranquility and beauty of the gardens and vistas are breathtaking. You could get lost for a full day here exploring the many gardens, tea house, bird refuge, the reflection pools, views of Puget Sound and so much more. They also offer concerts, workshops such as photography, birding, sculpture, floral and so much more. A true gem of the Northwest.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tall_six6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Bainbridge Landmark”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a perfect way to spend 2 hours in a natural, park-like setting. There are two loops that go through forested areas with pools and there's even a small waterfall. At the far end of the trail is the home of the original owner so spent his life preserving this habitat for all to see. The Japanese Garden is one of the best in the US (according to the literature they provide). The thing that impressed me was how quiet it is each time I come there. When on the island this is a must-see attraction. Price is worth it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Al Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
114 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A wonderful public garden”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

A friend in Santa Fe steered us to this place and it did not disappoint. On a spectacular sunny day we were treated to an array of gardens, including one showcasing various mosses. A sculpture exhibition enhanced our visit even further. If you are a traveling artist, this is a great place to go--as we noticed several watercolorists in the gardens the day we were there. If you are seeking out natural beauty on Bainbridge, the Bloedel fits the bill.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, South Dakota
Level Contributor
367 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“A garden for walking, meditating and communing with nature”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Unlike the typical gardens surrounding a majestic estate home, the Bloedel gardens are naturalized in a magnificent old-growth forest. The estate's mansion is overshadowed by the huge trees in the garden; nature overshadowing man's accomplishments. We went in the fall when the foliage is lush, but flowers are few; it must be truly stunning when the rhododendrons are blooming. The full walking tour is ~2 miles and takes ~2 hours, but there is a short version and a wheel-chair accessible one as well. Use the estate's physical address on Dolphin rather than attempting to let your GPS find it as a landmark; our Garmin took us on a scenic tour to nowhere. If you can find a sunny day in the Seattle area, this is a wonderful way to spend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank docj9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloedel Reserve also viewed

 
Bainbridge Island, WA
 

Been to Bloedel Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing