We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW Wonderful Experience”
Review of Island Country Inn

Island Country Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Country Inn
Kingston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed September 13, 2007

I came to the Island for a getaway with my boyfriend. We came to the Island to tour and visit many of the wineries there is on the Island. We chose the Island Country Inn due to the quaint little name and smallness of the hotel in itself. We loved staying at the Island Country Inn.

We checked in and the front desk clerk, well she was great and very helpful, we even had a word with the manager and he is nice as ever as well... They made us feel so welcome and we are so thankful that we stayed there.

We went to our room and everything was wonderful, the only thing that looked even close to 14 years old was the carpet, but you all know that over time the carpets don't last forever... I mean there was not big huge nasty stains, just a few small ones that were really no big deal... The beds were comfortable and quite cozy. Slept really nicely!!!

When we woke up in the morning we went down to the lobby to get ourselves some breakfast... man are those belgian waffles great!!! They have fruit toppings, peanut butter and syrup... YUMMY!!! plenty of food to fill you up or at least hold you off for a while...

We don't think we could have asked for a nicer place to stay on Bainbridge Island and we will defiantely be going back to the Island Country Inn...

We saw their remodeling of the lobby and it looks really wonderful so far and we heard they are remodeling the guests rooms during the fall of this year. We will wait and take our next trip back then so we can see the new rooms and the wonderful upgrade of the hotel...

I would recommend this to people of all ages, even Grandma... Whether your coming for work or pleasure...

  • Liked — Friendly staff and Belgian Waffles!!!
  • Disliked — That I had to leave and go back home...
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jezzka23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    38
    31
    19
    21
See reviews for
35
40
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
redhawk03
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2007

I and my mother stayed at the Inn in mid July. Although the inn is a little outdated the staff was extremely helpful and was genially happy to see us. The staff always seemed to smile with “real “smiles and had positive attitudes. The one staff member that I really remember was the front desk clerk named Josh. He stands out in our minds because we wanted to take a day trip to Port Angeles, but were not sure what to do when we got there. He researched the city really quickly and put together a little packet of things for us to do while were in Port Angeles. So if you are going to stay on Bainbridge Island I would defiantly recommend this inn.

  • Liked — The staffs positive attitude and willness to help in any situation.
  • Disliked — Some of the old decor.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank redhawk03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

Both times I stayed there they guaranteed one price, then tried to raise it at check out. Thought I was imagining things, but the same thing happened when my mom came to visit. Called the regional manager because the hotel manager was so rude and dishonest about it. The regional manager gave us a credit for one night stay, back onto our credit card, and admitted the place had had some problems.
Whatever you do, if you must stay there (and the rooms are pretty bad with toilets that do not flush) get your price in writing. They will try to raise it later!

  • Disliked — The people!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mendoinverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snoqualmie WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2007

First we reserved a non smoking room, the room we got was not a non smoking room. The room was not clean there were cob webs in the corner. The room needed to be redecorated, everything in the room was old.
We also went out and when we returned to our room at about midnight our key would not work.
If we had not missed the last ferry back to Seattle we would have gone home and not stayed.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank J_KSnoqualmieWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marana, AZ.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2005

We have just returned from a week at the Bainbridge Island Country Inn. We stayed in the deluxe room, it is worth the extra ten dollars a night. In the deluxe room we had a microwave, small refrigerator, down comforter, and robes to wear during the stay. The room was clean, no spots on carpet, the bed was very comfy especially with that comforter as your blanket, service was excellent and the people were friendly. The stay was very relaxing in this cozy Inn.

They have discount prices for the elderly and so on, so ask for a list of them to see if you qualify. For example, we have a family member who is a resident in Bainbridge, they gave us a generous discount.

In all the rooms, the maids put mints by the bed, there are irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, coffee pots, and they give you samples of soaps, shampoo/conditioners, shower caps, sewing kits, vanity sets, lotions, even makeup removers, and coffee packets for the coffee pots. They have a marvelous free breakfast for each guest, and at 4 PM they put out free fresh warm cookies for their guests.

If you do not like climbing stairs ask for the first floor. They have smoking and nonsmoking rooms. This is a Pet friendly Inn.

There is not a restaurant on premise, but there are places to eat, a safeway grocery store, and a couple other shops, all in walking distance.

The spa and pool were dirty, I tested the pool with my foot and it was cold, I did not check the temperature of the spa because it was way to dirty to even put a foot in.

I missed having a full length mirror in the room. There was not a DVD or a VCR in the room. I did not ask or see a CD player in the room. The bottom of the door to the outside had a gap, I laid a towel down to cover hole. I checked the room and the bed for bugs I did not see any.

The rooms fill up fast in Bainbridge, so make your plans early. And if there is not an opening ask to be put on the call list for any openings.

This Inn was not our first choice, however it is now. The rooms are clean and with the discount it is reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AZLovinIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2005

I recently had a nice visit to Bainbridge Island and stayed at the Island Country Inn & Suites. The hotel is right in the middle of the downtown area with the shops, art and good restaurants. The winery is across the street. Movie theater close by. We had a beautiful suite room with a kitchen and we had a wonderful breakfast with Belgium waffles in the lobby breakfast room. The big treat was the weather. We were able to use the outdoor jacuzzi at the pool. It was a real treat in the winter to be able to sit under the stars and enjoy a good soak. We reccommend this hotel highly! Mark & Hannah, Lynnwood Washington

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Mark003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainbridge Island
Best Western Plus Bainbridge Isl...
#1 of 5 in Bainbridge Island
462 reviews
Poulsbo Inn
#2 of 2 in Poulsbo
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oxford Suites Silverdale
#1 of 6 in Silverdale
662 reviews
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Country Inn

Property: Island Country Inn
Address: 920 Hildebrand Ln NE, Bainbridge Island, WA 98110-1800
Location: United States > Washington > Bainbridge Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bainbridge Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Country Hotel Bainbridge Island
Country Inn Bainbridge Island
Bainbridge Island Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing