We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Restaurant Marche

Restaurant Marche
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Lovely spot with authentic French food, the service is rather authentic too! Best French onion soup of my life, and I have had a lot!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineJohn75214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    45
    28
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Perfect 80th Birthday party with lots of family.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

July 6th was my husband' 80th birthday, and although we had a huge potluck on the 4th of July with friends of the family, we headed up the Olympic Peninsula for the real birthday dinner with just his family. Chef/owner Greg Atkinson, a good friend, and an one of the outstanding chef's in the Northwest, Opened just this last year, it was our first time to visit. Greg had an outstanding meal for us with lots of oysters, mussels, crab to start with. He had an exceptional vegetarian plate for 3 of the vegetarian children, and all especially enjoyed the carrot flan.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cutner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“West Puget Sound delight”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

A delightful day - walk from our home to the Seattle ferry terminal for a sunny ride to Bainbridge Island and lunch at Marche. 1:00 reservation, tables on the sunny deck, or in the main dining room, but we chose to sit at the zinc bar fronting the open kitchen to watch chef Greg Atkinson work his magic. We enjoyed a wonderful chicken liver pate, Pissaladière - wood fired flatbread with carmelized onions, anchovies and olives, and a plate with 5 vegetables prepared 5 ways - grilled eggplant with a harissa style sauce, sweet pickled grilled cauliflower, carrot flan (fabulous!), pan grilled corn niblets, spinach and mazuna sautéed with garlic. All went great with a lovely white Bordeaux that was being served by the glass.

The Salad Nicoise was a popular dish coming out of the kitchen, and looked delicious with jewel-like local albacore seared on the grill and sliced atop two types of greens, nicoise olives, eggs, lightly sautéed tomatoes, and little fingerling potato coins. Our dining neighbors raved about the mussels and frits. They looked and smelled really yummy!

Desert was a stone fruit mélange with a caramel sugar 'cone'. (And a box of cookies to take home.)

All in all, a delightful day and a lunch to match!

Hint to locals and Seattle tourists alike: The cross-Sound ferries from Seattle to Bainbridge or Bremerton are an excellent way to get out on the water and experience Seattle at it's essence. Walk aboard and $7.75 is a cheap price to pay for a 1 - 2 hour round trip excursion on Puget Sound. Both towns are super destinations for touring - Bainbridge with it's quaint (and trendy) town center - home to Marche, and other great dining; and Bremerton with it's long Navy history - home to a major shipyard and really nice waterfront park with warship exhibits. The 50 minute ride to Bremerton is actually my favorite with it's turn enroute through narrow Rich Passage. On a clear day the water routes feature jaw dropping views of the Olympic and Cascade mountain ranges - including the queen of the Northwest - Mount Rainier in all her glory. You will see sea birds galore, eagles, and if you're lucky - Dahl's Porpoises (look like miniature killer-whales), harbor seals, sea lions, and a flotilla that makes it easy to understand why we think of this place as the boating capital of the world. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 444RayS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delightful spot for lunch!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We took a ferry over to Bainbridge Island and stumbled on this little restaurant which is off the main street of the island a bit. It has a lovely outdoor patio and we enjoyed fabulous French 75s, soup and salad. All of the staff was exceptionally friendly. And there's fantastic ice cream just across the street!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OSUchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were in Seattle on vacation and made a last min decision to take a ferry to Bainbridge Island. We didn't plan our visit to Bainbridge; didn't know what to expect, where to go or what to see on the island.
Looking for a place to have lunch we happened upon Marche. Im sooo glad we did because this restaurant is a true gem! They were incredibly hospitable; service was flawless; food was fantastic.

This was one of the best meals we had in Seattle! It made our time in Bainbridge wonderful :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mildjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Marche also viewed

 
Bainbridge Island, WA
Bainbridge Island, WA
 

Been to Restaurant Marche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing