We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Promising” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hitchcock

Hitchcock
Reserve with OpenTable
Hitchcock is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
US
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Promising”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice effort. Solid menu, great prices on wine selection. Very friendly staff. There is a great opportunity to highlight even more locally sourced product. Execution was solid albeit slightly underwhelming when compared to competition in Seattle. For the island, this is the spot to hit - no question. We'll definitely visit again and have high expectations for the chef and his team at delivering even more thoughtful flavor combinations and preparations. Our only unpleasant dish were the oysters which were creamy - which to us means they are spawning. Not the greatest mouthfeel or flavor - no matter how its sauced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank viaggiat0re_felice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    33
    25
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Markleeville, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shocking Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Like a scene right out of 'North by Northwest,' Chef Brendan McGill provides an affordable fine dining experience on quaint Bainbridge Island. "Pay what you want" and experience a wide range of menu offerings that change regularly -- even locals can eat there without getting bored. Portions are small. The piece de resistance: Douglas fir and elderberry ice creams served with brown sugar cookie and a divine pistachio mousse.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judypie420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gourmet Dinner in Laid Back Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Chnging menu and adverturous ingredients. TRhis dinner was a real highlight of our Seattle trip and compares favorably with the best in the big city.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Be wary of the "pay what you want" approach (or be prepared to settle in for a long evening)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

A group of six of us ventured to Bainbridge Island the other night to try out the much raved about Hitchcock restaurant. Once we were there, we opted for the "pay what you want" plan, where essentially you say how much you want to pay per person and then you put yourself in the chef's hands. Six mini courses and three hours later, we left (still a bit hungry). It isn't that the food wasn't good, but it wasn't memorable. I think the biggest frustration was that we seemed to be a bit of an afterthought for the waitress and chef, often with 30+ minutes in between courses. Perhaps this was par for the course, but no warning was giving for how long this meal would take, and as a result, we missed our ferry back. I'd be willing to give this place another go, but I'd definitely be selecting from the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Phinneywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Expensive for pizza only night...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Hearing rave reviews about the creativity and good tastes, I ventured in with a reservation for four. We were cautioned at the door, not when making the reservation, that it was "Italian only night." Too late to go somewhere else, we stayed to have a good Italian meal. However, it wasn't really Italian night, it was pizza night. The only entrees were pizzas. We made the best of it and ordered some interesting appetizers to break up the monotony. A sardine plate came swimming in oil. There was so much oil that the server proceeded to spill it all over the table. The sardines were particularly slender with little flesh. A disappointment. The salad was simple and superb, with outstanding parmesan shavings. The pizzas were interesting, but unremarkable. Comparing them to several well-known stops in Seattle, such as Serious Pie, they don't compare. The fig pizza was quirky, the pizza highlighting their meats was much better. Regardless, they arrived cold and the crusts had become a bit soft. The restaurant, while charming in appearance, is overcrowded and extremely noisy. The din made it impossible to have a regular toned conversation, unless lucky enough to be in a booth (we were). The tables are too closely spaced, with many an "excuse me" offered as coats dragged over tables or brushed seated customers' heads. The evening remained pleasant - the staff was cheerful, the environment was happy. But overall, +$150 for a cold pizza dinner with wine for four, seems a bit excessive. Perhaps, the regular menu surpasses this expensive but casual evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pippin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hitchcock also viewed

 
Bainbridge Island, WA
 

Been to Hitchcock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing