We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual property with great food”

The Log House 1776 Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 59 Restaurants in Wytheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
buffalo,ny
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unusual property with great food”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Log House 1776 in Wytheville,Va was a wonderful ending to a recent road trip. Having pledged to stay away from fast food and chains ,this was a most welcome place. Interesting menu with historic overtones. We both had pork loin- I the chef;s choice- stuffed with apples and onions-my husband the southern pork with peppers. both very good. All the side vegetables sounded good- had the stuffed squash- very nice. The gift shop is surprisingly open when the restaurant is- which is til 10:00 pm. What a cool place- everything was unique and interesting. Must check out the gardens during the season- next time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sloanrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    275
    91
    47
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whiting, NJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great historical place to dine”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Very unique property with a gift shop and bar on the premises. friendly & knowledgeable waitresses who provided info on the house and where the food items came from. The place is known for their homemade items and the food was very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travellady43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique dinner restaurant in Wythville, W Va”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

A great relaxing environment with food cooked to order. A great reward after hours of driving. There was a little wait for the food but we accepted that in that the food was freshly cooked (not a fast food restaurant for sure!) Wine not consumed can be taken in the bottle with you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aws33301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not too good”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Walking in and having the hostess/waitress not even smile was a little off-putting. The bowl of vegetable soup was good and then it went downhill. The burger arrived barely warm. The sandwich, which was an open-faced ham and cheese topped with asparagus, was a joke. I think it was served on half a hot dog bun, it was very skimpy, and it was topped with CANNED ASPARAGUS. The gift shop was interesting though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckhollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel staff recommended this restaurant to us. We were just looking for a light dinner and we don't like fast food. The atmosphere is great. Interesting to see. The waiter wasn't bad but no personality. He took a long time to get our food to us, and then it wasn't warm. There wasn't many people, I'm not sure what the problem was. As far as the food, it wasn't so great. Not much flavor
And it was lukewarm. I hate being negative but I wasn't too impressed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Log House 1776 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Log House 1776 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing