We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly service”
Review of Italian Garden

Italian Garden
Ranked #9 of 60 Restaurants in Wytheville
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Athens, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived close to closing on a Sunday evening. We were the only customers at that time. Still, they were welcoming and friendly. The food was very good and the price was reasonable for all we ordered.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    40
    19
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very Good with reasonable expectations.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Small town, Italian, full menu. Service was very cordial, owner was on site. The meal I had was very good, more than I could eat. Adding the side salad at a very minimal extra price was a good choice, well worth it. Remember, this is a small town, so one should not expect out of the world decor or a wait staff in pricey uniforms. If one is reasonable in their expectations, I think those expectations will be pleasantly exceeded. I would stop here again, without question.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect like back home”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went here recently for the first time in a few years. In pleased to report that it was as good as I remember it being.

Service and atmosphere are first rate. Definitely more romantic than places like le bernardin.

My starter was first rate. My main course was a salmon and was done perfectly but could have been a little more flavoursome.

In the end though - not enough to take away from a full five stars

Visited September 2013

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“terrible”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I musty have eaten at a different Italian Garden in Wytheville…the one I ate at certainly would never earn a 4.5/5. Pizza was mediocre at best: bland sauce and I paid for extra cheese, but did not get it. Chicken Cacciatore was bland. My wife told the waitress she could not eat any pasta and was assured the chicken did not have any. It did: served with overcooked penne. The “parmesan” cheese did not even taste like cheese, much less parmesan. Torn vinyl covered worn out booth seats. Should have gone to the Pizza Hut across the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rb2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“SHOULDA ORDERED THE PIZZA”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Saw that the Italian Garden was rated number one in Wytheville. Thought we should give it a try since I had a hankering for spaghetti with meat sauce. One of my criteria for rating an Italian restaurant is the quality of its meat sauce. This place failed. Sauce was overloaded with garlic and had a biting taste. Might go back for pizza, since apparently the number one rating is based on the quality of their pizza. I don't advise ordering anything else. Some good points - atmosphere was pleasant and the service was quite friendly. Just disappointed in the meat sauce.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HANCEJILL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italian Garden also viewed

 

Been to Italian Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing