We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How We Paid $51.16 For A Dried Out Omelette”
Review of Bob Evans

Bob Evans
Ranked #21 of 59 Restaurants in Wytheville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: store #0268
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
330 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“How We Paid $51.16 For A Dried Out Omelette”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Bob Evans Restaurant In Wytheville --- How We Paid $51.16 For A Dried Out Omelette 8/13/12
    Before I took this extended summer trip to the East Coast I’d never heard of Bob Evans, but now I wish for that same blissful ignorance. I’m always glad to try something new particularly in the way of a family restaurant, yet my first meal was a $9.99 3 course steak dinner special that wasn’t very tender. I thought maybe steak wasn’t their specialty. The second time I visited the restaurant I tried a chef’s salad. The turkey was tasteless, the ham almost nonexistent. Even the hard-boiled egg had seen better days. I thought maybe that was just deli food. That was in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania and Winchester, Virginia respectively. But last night in Wytheville my husband and I ordered an omelette for dinner while my son ordered spaghetti. I thought they should be able to prepare that. It arrived all dried out on the outside. When I went to pay for it, the cashier was shocked when I didn’t leave a tip. I was shocked that he asked for one.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    46
    31
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
225 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A little tired...”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stopped in with my children to eat after checking in at our hotel. I am not a complete germaphobe (my husband would disagree), but I was a little uneasy when the host told my kids to "pick out any color of menu and straw" they wanted. (Typically, a BE kids menu is folded with a twisty staw stuck inside of it.) Being a former teacher, I KNOW how kids pick one, change their mind, put it back and pick another. Needless to say, my kids didn't use the bendy straws. We arrived at our table which had several pools/drips of honey on it with the honey jar still present. The host didn't notice this, so we had to ask for the table to be wiped down. The remainder of our meal was fine. Typical BE food & quality. Service was great. I just felt like they were a little lax in the cleaning. It is an older place, so maybe that's why some cleanliness issues stood out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MREA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Typically Good Bob Evans”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Ended up stopping here for dinner after going to the Shoney's across the street (yes, Shoney's was bad). Anyways, the staff was friendly and helpful at Bob Evans. The meal was delicious, as was the dessert. The restaurant itself is dated (the hostess said that they are slated to have a remodel in October of 2013), but the view, from a hillside in VA is as gorgeous as I've ever seen at a restaurant. I have yet to be disappointed when choosing a Bob Evans.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheBooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“WORST SERVICE EVER”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

we waited over a half hour for our food. i've never had that at any resturant ever. the tables were filthy. but they did appoligize and didn't make us pay for the meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keith193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible service!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Waiter was MIA for most of our meal. Twice had to ask the hostess for assistance with refills and ordering desert. Restaurant was freezing and food was only warm. Definately not up to bob evans standards.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Evans also viewed

 
Wytheville, VA
 

Been to Bob Evans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing