We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Budget Host Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Budget Host Inn
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A welcome surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

This hotel wasn't much to look at from the outside, but once we got to our rooms we were pleasantly surprised! The rooms were large, very tidy, and well kept. We thought the stenciled cinder block walls were so cool! The bathroom was super clean and the shower was roomy. There was a mini fridge in the room. Yes, It's a bit outdated, but overall very comfortable & clean. There was a continental breakfast and the owner was very friendly! Give this nice guy your business!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    75
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
32
44
27
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
JACKSONVILLE
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Only wanted something cheap, quiet and clean for an overnight stop on a long drive from Florida to Detroit and this was exactly what we got. Well located just off the freeway but far enough to be quiet. Owner was very friendly and obliging. It's an older motel but I did not want to live there. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

I rate this hotel a 4 out of 5 because although the hotel is very old, it's clean and the customer service is fantastic. In fact, it's the best customer service I have ever encountered at a hotel. The friendliness of the two staff/front desk managers whom I encountered was noteworthy. I would recommend the Budget Host Wytheville to anyone who does not mind staying at an old facility.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Absolutely good enough. For the price it's unbeatable if you just want a shower an a place to sleep. 

You types looking for pampering and some kind of experience best look elsewhere.  This place is dated yet tidy and our room had nothing funky about it  

Our recently-remodeled room in Mt Airy was twice the price and had some funk about it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SixPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

As others have noted, there have been no updates to the rooms in years, but they were clean, quiet and the guy in the office was super nice. Nothing fancy, and no frills....but a good nights sleep without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: One of the few hotels that still have smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelize904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

This motel has not been updated but at these prices you can't complain. The rooms are clean, the owner is friendly, and this place is perfect for a place to get a good night's sleep on a road trip. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ONEALLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budgethostVa, Manager at Budget Host Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

As a mother on a trip alone with children, I booked this hotel based on price, and found it to be very clean and very safe. Although it is surrounded by more well-known name-brand hotels, I would return to this location. It is perfectly located at the intersection of 81 and 77, it makes a great pit-stop on a long trip. The manager was very kind and welcoming, even though we arrived very late at night. He seemed to look out for us. The linens were clearly fresh, and beds were comfortable. The parking area was well lit, etc. Absolutely no complaints. Additional compliment: my child left his special pillow from home by accident, and the manager saved it to mail back to us. Very understanding and child friendly. I highly recommend to any family.

Room Tip: no pool or other amenities-but a great place to rest and refresh when you are tired of driving
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wytheville hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Wytheville
Travelodge Wytheville
#12 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Wytheville
1.4 mi away
Ramada Wytheville
Ramada Wytheville
#13 of 20 in Wytheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Wytheville
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wytheville
La Quinta Inn Wytheville
#7 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budget Host Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Host Inn

Property: Budget Host Inn
Address: 705 Chapman Rd, Wytheville, VA 24382-3467
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Budget Host Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Budget Host Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing