We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“OK for an overnight stay. I guess.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
GreenLeadersBronze level
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK for an overnight stay. I guess.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

We ended up booking this hotel after enduring almost 3 hours of a 24 mile long traffic jam on I-77 heading north. We were traveling from NC to PA and originally had planned to stay in Charleston WV. We used our cell phone to search for hotels in the area and because of our experience with Best Western in the past, decided to get a room @ the BW in Wytheville for the night. Our GPS originally took us the wrong way on Nye Rd, but there was a Best Western sign that directed us to the hotel correctly. The hotel is off of the interstate in a nicely wooded area with little traffic noise. My initial impression upon drive up to the hotel was that it was a bit run down. But sometimes exteriors hide quite nice interiors.
The man at the front desk was friendly and accommodating. The lobby was rustic and actually quite inviting. The room, however, was a different story. Upon entering the room, which was labeled "non-smoking," you could smell a slightly stale cigarette smell. I noticed that the rooms across the hall were not labeled as such, so maybe that's from where the smell was coming. The room was clean enough, but you could tell that it had not been vacuumed. There were cobwebs in the corners and crumbs on the top of the microwave. I always remove the cover blankets on the beds (in those hotels that still use them) since they aren't always washed. I checked the sheets and they seemed clean enough. There were a few hairs, but I just attributed them to being washed with towels, etc. since they smelled clean. The pillows were comfortable. The box springs were not covered at all. I found that a little gross, as there was some staining (brownish drips of some sort) on one of the bed's box spring mattress. I liked the fact that there was a fridge in the room. But upon opening the fridge, my husband found a Styrofoam container with chicken tenders inside. Obviously not ours! The shower head was nice and the water was hot. The hot and cold were reversed in the shower, so they decided to label the "cold" side with a "C" written on a white piece of paper and taped onto the faucet with a piece of scotch tape. The red heat lamp was a nice "old school" addition. The coffeemaker was on the bathroom sink. Too bad there was someone else's old coffee still in the pot! Yuck! We were happy to get back on the road in the morning. My husband mentioned the chicken and the coffee to the woman at the front desk upon checkout and she apologized and said that they were training new cleaning staff. Either way, we don't intend to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinaracegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WythevilleInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2010
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Wytheville Inn. I appreciate your taking the time to comment on Trip advisor. and hope you will accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced. My staff has been made aware of your comments and we are taking steps that will change the way that we do things. We appreciate all comments and use them as training tools to train our staff.
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    260
    159
    92
    52
See reviews for
323
291
59
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

We said here on the way to NC. The hotel was OK. The kids loved the pool - nice courtyard area, but someone needs to pick up during the day (dirty towels everywhere) and the staff step out on the deck area to smoke - disguisting, esp when there are a group of 5 or 6 of them.
Rooms were a good size, but not overly clean - they clean around - not under or in corners. Beds are only doubles and were very soft. For us, that caused us to wake with a sore back and not much sleep when you share a small bed with a child.
Breakfast bar was OK - fresh waffles but takes forever for batter to fill the cup and very long line. Not many tables and a very small area to eat in and to get your food - no fruit.
No elevators and very hot in staricase and hallways - allows pets but if you ask for a room on 2nd floor in the middle, those rooms are pet free.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funinthesunforfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Please accept our thank for the opportunity to provide our services to you. I do apologize that we fail to meet the standards that you expected in a Best Western.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

We were ready to book a room here but when we did the virtual tour we were glad we didn't! We looked at the standard double and there is a whole section of wallpaper falling off the wall. We will be looking for other accomadations.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rst428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WythevilleInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2010
Thank you for your response to our virtual tour. I do not know what you were looking at but we have no wallpaper on our property. Everything has been redone with the finish called knockdown. We appreciate your taking the time to look at our property and invite you to stay with us at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night and we were extremely pleased. Great accommodations and awesome service are just two reasons why one should choose to stay here. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and clean. We got a great rate and check-in was easy and fast. On our next trip we would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikiandheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WythevilleInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2010
Than you for you comments concerning your stay at the Best Western Wytheville Inn. It is our pleasure to make all of our guest to feel at home when at our property. We will look forward to having you visit with us again.
Thank you
Sandra L Montgomery
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Alabama
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2010

We read the reviews of others and chose this hotel from among the many options here along the road. We have not been disappointed. Friendly check-in and comfortable room. Good value for a night's rest.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Silonius3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WythevilleInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2010
We appreciate your comment during your recent visit to Best Western Wytheville Inn.
Our customer relations are very important to us. We strive to make everyone feel at home whether it is your first visit or one of many visits. Thank you. Sandra L Montgomery, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaramin19
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

I stayed here during a business trip. The Hotel was clean neat and the staff was friendly and courteous. Could not have asked for a better hotel. Price was very reasonable!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amaramin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WythevilleInn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, March 17, 2010
Thank your for your comments during your recent stay at the Best Western Wytheville Inn. We take pride in our service to our guest. We want you to feel at home when you are here. We will look forward to having you return to visit us. Thank you. Sandra L Montgomery General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2010

This hotel carries a very home like setting. It is clean, quiet and the staff is very polite, sincere and helpful. My fiancé and I were visiting his relatives for the New Year and we enjoyed the hotel because it was a great value for our buck. It is hard to find hotels now a day that remind you of being in the comfort of your own home.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yatin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WythevilleInn, Manager at BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn, responded to this review, January 15, 2010
Thank you for your kind words, we look forward to accommodating you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wytheville hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Wytheville
Travelodge Wytheville
#12 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Wytheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wytheville
La Quinta Inn Wytheville
#7 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Wytheville
Comfort Suites Wytheville
#3 of 20 in Wytheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn
Address: 355 Nye Rd, Wytheville, VA 24382-4921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Wytheville
#7 Family Hotel in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Inn Wytheville. Wake up to a great day at our hotel in Wytheville, VA. Enjoy a gorgeous sunrise over the mountains and a delicious complimentary breakfast. For business, our free high-speed Internet access keeps you connected. For pleasure, the outdoor pool is a great way to relax in the afternoon. Best of all, Best Western Inn Wytheville offers pet-friendly accommodations so you can bring the whole family along! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Wytheville Hotel Wytheville
Best Western Hotel Wytheville
Wytheville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing