We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History Comes Alive in Wytheville, Va.!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edith Bolling Wilson Birthplace Museum

Edith Bolling Wilson Birthplace Museum
145 East Main Street, Open by Appt. For Individual And Group Tours, Wytheville, VA 24382
12762233484
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Wytheville
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The First Lady's Birthplace Museum, also her childhood home, speaks to the life of one of the most influential, controversial, and politically significant women of the twentieth century. Edith Bolling [Galt] Wilson was not only the First Lady of President Woodrow Wilson, but is also a descendant of: Pocahontas, Martha Washington, Thomas Jefferson, J.E.B.Stuart and Robert E. Lee. The Edith Bolling Wilson Birthplace Museum houses Bolling furniture, books, letters, art, photographs, and documents owned by Mrs. Wilson or donated by Bolling family members and friends. The second floor Bolling Home where the family lived is located above the Museum. While many historians have referred to Mrs. Wilson as "The Secret President" because of her role in our country's history during the recovery of President Woodrow Wilson's debilitating stroke in 1919, there is much more to this 'story' ... Please visit to learn more about First Lady Edith Bolling [Galt] Wilson, from her birth to her incredible journey to the White House and beyond.
Madison, VA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“History Comes Alive in Wytheville, Va.!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We visited the Edith Bolling Wilson Museum in Wytheville, Va., on July 23, 2013, and enjoyed seeing her personal possessions beautifully displayed on the first floor. Then Jeremy Miller treated us to a special tour of the second-floor home where Edith grew up with by her large family. It was so interesting to walk through her childhood surroundings still in their original state from 1910 when Wytheville itself was very small. Renovation of Edith Wilson's home is just beginning at a time of renewal for the town itself. Everywhere we looked, storefronts were coming alive. It's an exciting place, and the crown jewel is the Edith Bolling Wilson Museum. Be sure to see it, donate to help the restoration, and look closely, because the next time you go, everything may be different. We felt lucky to "be in on the ground floor" where we could feel the energy of Edith's family surrounding us! Thank you for a special time - and we will return.. Annie and Mack Rowe, Madison, Va.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnieMadison_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fletcher, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Edith Bolling Wilson Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent small home town museum. Wonderful curator with wonderful stories about our first lady!
If you want to see a ground up view of how museums start with a personal touch, do not miss this stop!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wingfoot3912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Complex, Intriquing First Lady”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Walk through the first floor of Edith Bolling Wilson's birthday and it is easy to see why this museum devoted to this influential, controversial, and politically significant First Lady of the United States.

The right side is dedicated to her family and upbrnging, and the left side to her life with President Wilson. They occationally offer a "Hard Hat" Tour of the upstairs living quarters which I missed and am certain I would have found very interesting.

The curator has taken a very personal interest in Edith Bolling Wilson and has an indepth knowledge of her life. This extra knowledge made Ms. Bolling come alive for me!

I highly recommend taking the time to visit this free museum, talking with it's founder and supporting the museum.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank twilbur2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Historically detailed account of Mrs. Wilson's life and activities and the First Lady. Very interesting and informative.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank SandAngel13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“interesting bit of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

It was late in the day, but the staff at the visitor center called ahead and the curator agreed to wait for us. A charming little museum - and we learned something, too.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edith Bolling Wilson Birthplace Museum also viewed

 

Been to Edith Bolling Wilson Birthplace Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing