We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool Place”

Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs
Ranked #5 of 61 Restaurants in Wytheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Serving up great food since 1925, Skeeter’s has been serving world famous “SKEETERDOGS” to locals and travelers for generations. Experience Skeeter’s “World Famous Hotdogs” a true Wytheville tradition!
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool Place”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I visit Wytheville every summer and go to skeeters 3 to 5 times on my visit. The building is very cool and the Hot Dogs taste very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zach T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkeetersVA, Owner at Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Zach T,
Thanks for the shout out on Trip Advisor! We are proud that you choose to come and enjoy Skeeter Dogs so often during your summer visit to Wytheville. Looking forward to seeing you again in Downtown Wytheville at Skeeter's!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    55
    40
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Charming local joint”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great dog. Throw back place. We love to go local when traveling. This fit the bill. So glad we stopped. Great service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DietCokeAddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkeetersVA, Owner at Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed you trip to Skeeter's and shared on Trip Advisor! We hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Average Hot Dog”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had read about Skeeter’s on TA and wanted to try what one person said was the closest thing to WV hot dogs as it gets. They close at 5:30 pm and we arrived at 5:25 pm. They didn’t seem to mind, as we ordered hot dogs to go. Skeeter’s is located in a very old building with old fashioned counter and stools, something out of the 50s. The people working there were nice. As far as the hot dog, I would say it was average and not very close to a WV hot dog.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pletzkeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkeetersVA, Owner at Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
pletzkeb,
Good afternoon. We are excited that you stopped by to compare a Skeeter's "World Famous Hotdog" against a WV hotdog. A WV hotdog is tough competition but we are very found of our Skeeter Dogs! We look forward to you coming back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs????”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

If the hot dogs are world famous, I have absolutely no idea why. I get better hot dogs at Costco and Sam's Club - and they are cheaper. The atmosphere and decor inside the restaurant is truly historic and does take one back in time. Very interesting signs and antiques to look at. The old ice cream freezer still works too. Glad I stopped there, but I was disappointed with the hot dog and I thought they were over-priced. Wouldn't go back but would certainly recommend it for someone who wants to take a step back in time and look around in there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargAnneL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkeetersVA, Owner at Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
MargAnneL,
Good afternoon. We are glad that you stopped by Skeeter's in Downtown Wytheville, VA to try a Skeeter Dog! We are disappointed that your order wasn't yummy as we work hard to ensure they always are coming off the cooking counter. Skeeter's have served up "Dogs" the same way since 1920, we will see what happened this past Saturday. We work hard to keep costs down so our customers will come back to see us often!

We hope that you will come back to give Skeeter's "World Famous Hotdogs" another shot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hmmmm!!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Suppose to be the best hot dogs around. Went there last year and was not very pleased with them. Don't know whether they were bad ones or what but I have had better cheaper ones that the ones we had that day, family/In-laws say they won't eat there again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SamP908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkeetersVA, Owner at Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Sam P,
Our goal is to serve everyone a great hot dog (or two, three or four!) and are disappointed that this was not the case when you joined us in February of 2012. We hope that you and your family/in-laws will come back to enjoy a "World Famous" Skeeter Dog with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs also viewed

 

Been to Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing