We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Wytheville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Super 8 Wytheville
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Mississauga, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was our second visit to this motel. We had stayed here a year ago, with no issues. It is just an overnight stop on our way down to Myrtle Beach, SC from Toronto, ON, Canada. This time around, we had several issues with the housekeeping in our room. The counter top in the sink area was not clean. There was dust and hairs on the counter when we entered the room. No big deal, I thought. We'll just give it a wipe and that's that. Then we went to bed. The bed was seriously the MOST UNCOMFORTABLE bed I have EVER slept in, in my entire life..... The springs were so worn, the bed squeaked every time we got in or out. When my husband got out of bed, I thought I was going to be seasick, it rocked so much. The next morning, my husband had a quick shower before we hit the road. Explain to me HOW, after he FINISHED his shower, there was a LONG BLACK hair in the tub, when he has SHORT GREY hair...... I refused to shower after that, and we left. I know you get what you pay for, but I seriously DO expect a clean room, and a comfortable bed. We will NOT be staying here again. Sorry, Super 8. You have seriously disappointed us with this visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imcdn100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Wytheville, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear about this experience, but do appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback. Our guest rooms are scheduled for a major renovation later this fall, so I hope you will reconsider and stay with us again in the future. I'm confident that we can provide you with the level of comfort you expect and deserve. Thanks for staying at the Super 8.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    163
    89
    48
    27
See reviews for
164
133
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
365 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

My family and I have stayed at this Super 8 on a number of occasions over the past 10 years while travelling. It has always been been a well-worn property but our most recent visit convinced us that it's best days are far in the past. The entire property is worn out.

There are many obvious signs of wear and rust on metal objects. Our bathroom door no longer closed properly because the door was larger than the opening.

The nicest thing I can say about the reception staff was that she was there. The parking lot was almost empty and we requested a ground-floor room to make it easier to move stuff in and out of our car. We were told curtly that there were no rooms with 2 beds available on the ground floor. Anyone who was staying in those rooms on the ground floor must be invisible !

We will stay in another hotel on our next visit. There are lots of alternatives in the Wytheville area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Wytheville, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Your business through the years is much appreciated. Our hotel is scheduled for a major renovation this fall, so we hope to win you back with the sort of comfort and service you expect and deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Website said $55/ night. Got quoted $65 for king-n/s. Furniture was very worn, and at least 20 yesrs old. Bed was hard and uncomfortable. 3 flat pillows for a king size bed? REALLY? Woke up with a sore back and neck. One thin blanket, no extras. Baseboards in bathroom were buckled and warped, with spider webs in the corners. Afraid to shower. Sink had coffee stains and hairs...clearly had not been properly cleaned. Free breakfast was all carbs, a half a loaf of bread and a jar of jelly? Um, it's not my grandma's house... individual jelly would be more appropriate. I have no idea who may have licked their knife and stuck it in the jelly. (And I work in restaurants, so yes, I have seen people do this.)

The soap smelled nice.

Lots of other places nearby, so if I had to do it again, I wouldn't stay here. Maybe if I were charged the price they quote on their website, but for $65 +taxes, this place is not worth my money.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biscuitMaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan D, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Wytheville, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thanks for choosing the Super 8. I'm very sorry to hear that you had an unsatisfactory stay with us, but appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wytheville hotels
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Wytheville
Travelodge Wytheville
#12 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
1.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Wytheville
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn
BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn
#9 of 20 in Wytheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wytheville
La Quinta Inn Wytheville
#7 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Wytheville
Comfort Suites Wytheville
#3 of 20 in Wytheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Wytheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Wytheville

Property: Super 8 Wytheville
Address: 130 Nye Cir, Wytheville, VA 24382-4914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Wytheville 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in Summer 2014! Book a room at the pet-friendly Super 8 Wytheville hotel and get more out of your next trip. Our location off Interstates 77 and 81 makes it easy to get to the area's most popular attractions. The Wohlfahrt Haus Dinner Theatre is just five minutes from our hotel. Get off the road, relax in your room and catch up on email with free Wi-Fi Internet access. Begin your morning with our free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza then get on with your day. Free parking makes it easy to come and go. Non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 Wytheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel - Wytheville Hotel Wytheville
Super Eight Wytheville
Wytheville Super Eight
Wytheville Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing