We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, quiet, comfortable.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Wytheville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn Wytheville
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Certificate of Excellence
Fincastle, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet, comfortable.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Clean, quiet, comfortable. That pretty much sums up the stay. Staff was friendly and attentive, common area were clean and in good repair as were the rooms. Breakfast was as normal for a Hampton, nothing fantastic but good. Not having a juice machine is inconvenient, as was the unavailability of hard boiled eggs.
Would stay here again when traveling through the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wytheville, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Bill,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am glad to hear that you were able to enjoy the peaceful setting. I hopr you will continue to choose the Wytheville Hampton Inn for your lodging needs while traveling in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    159
    64
    34
    11
See reviews for
173
176
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, VA, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

The front desk staff is not as friendly as other Hampton's but the breakfast staff at this Hampton, is excellent, very personable. They also have some of the best apples I have ever eaten! Good selections and food is hot.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wytheville, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Pat,

Thanks for taking time to leave a review about our hotel. I am glad to hear that the Breafast staff made you feel welcome and important. I will speak with each Front Desk clerk to ensure they provide the same service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lack of understanding of extended stay customers. The Hotel strikes me as one that hopes you are one and done. I have stayed at this hotel during several Christmas Holidays with no Room Services (Towels, Cleaning, Etc.) on Christmas Day and I have not complained, but this last trip took the cake. Terrible treatment, no respect during the stay and no access to Hotel Management until after my departure. I am a Hilton Diamond VIP Member and can not believe this hotel is part of the Hilton Family of Hotels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wytheville, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Bruce,

Thanks for providing helpful feedback concerning our property. I always use our guest feedback as a tool to better improve our guest services and make improvements to our hotel. I apologize for the issues that you encountered and have stood by our 100% Guarantee that if you are not happy then you stay is on us. I hope you will continue to choose the Wytheville Hampton Inn for your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacklick, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Check in was slow due to only one desk person checking guests in...backed up to 5 guests checking in at one time. Desk person was very efficient...but they needed a second person...she answered the phone too. Free Internet service was very slow to the point of being essentially unusable. I tethered at my own expense instead. Room rate of about $140 before taxes is getting rather high for a minimum service hotel in a rural area. Lots of noisy children in the hotel the night I stayed but the room was very quiet. Very clean. Probably worth the extra $30-$40 per night when compared to other minimum service hotels in the immediate area. Many restaurants in the immediate area made dinner easy. I will stay here again as I travel through this area 3 or 4 times a year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank 2thGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wytheville, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your honest review. I will have my staff look into the issue with our internet immediately, and ensure that our Front Desk Manager is properly scheduling additional staff on busy nights. We always strive to give each guest a clean comfortable room that reflects the highest levels of standards. I am pleased to hear that we meet your expectations. I am will forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just not up to the usual standard of Hampton. Have noted that it is poorly run and under staffed. Our wait to check in was slow. There were other guests waiting and lone staff member was on the telephone on hotel business. Just not a good over all experience. We had stayed there 3 years ago and had a similar experience but had forgotten. Won't forget again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wytheville, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Terri,
I apologize for the bad experience you had at our hotel. At your earliest convenience please call me to discuss the issues so that I can address my staff and hopefully improve your experience that you had with us. I can be reached at 276.228.6090.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Stayed on our way to and from the beach. The lobby is nicely remodeled but the rooms could use the same. Our first room was okay, clean, nice adjustable shower head, and good AC. Upon return, our room smelled musty and the bathroom was set back and very small. There was a cut out for a dressing area that was empty and a door for the closet was particle board painted brown. AC did not work well. Very strange, since the first room was just fine. Breakfast was fine, coffee, juices, eggs, and make your own waffles, fruit, etc. Bed were okay, a little on the soft side. A bit pricey, but the have their market cornered. Not one of the newly remodeled Hampton's. Would stay again, but would ask for another room if I got the second room again. It was already midnight, so I didn't bother this time.

Room Tip: Ask for large bathroom room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wytheville, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Ms. Curly8

I’m surprised that you had this issue I appreciate you taken the time to fill out a review. I will have my Head Housekeeper look into this matter so it won’t happen again. We look forward for your next stay at the Hampton Inn Wytheville

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawba, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Lovely location, beautiful rooms and an indoor pool with great breakfast. Check in was very fast and easy, breakfast had quite a crowd but we never ran out of food - kids were treated like kings. Beds were clean and bathroom was well stocked.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Deborah Beebe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbara J, General Manager at Hampton Inn Wytheville, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Ms. Deborah,

It's so great to hear that you had a wonderful experience during your stay. We love serving wonderful guests such as yourself and appreciate your feedback and time that it takes to write these reviews

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wytheville hotels
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
1.3 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wytheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Wytheville
Comfort Suites Wytheville
#3 of 20 in Wytheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Wytheville
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wytheville
La Quinta Inn Wytheville
#7 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Wytheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Wytheville

Property: Hampton Inn Wytheville
Address: 950 Peppers Ferry Rd, Wytheville, VA 24382-4000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wytheville
#4 Business Hotel in Wytheville
#5 Family Hotel in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Wytheville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the history-rich town of Wytheville, Virginia, the Hampton Inn Wytheville hotel is the perfect place to stop, rest and relax while in the area. Take in the culture and history of the downtown area, drive the Blue Ridge Parkway, bike at Beartown Wilderness and more. With so much to do, Wytheville is the perfect place to visit for work or leisure. While you stay at this Hampton, enjoy complimentary internet access, a free hot breakfast each morning, pool, fitness center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Wytheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Wytheville Hotel Wytheville
Wytheville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing