We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful view, easy access from Interstates 81/77” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, easy access from Interstates 81/77”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here Nov 8,9, 2013. The hotel looks brand new inside and out though the receptionist told me she'd been here five years. The room was immaculate, the bed comfortable, the breakfast typical but the breakfast room especially warm and inviting. I stayed an extra 20 min to just watch the Sunday morning news and drink coffee. The front desk is cheerful and helpful. The weekend rate was $100, a far cry from the $76 in Harrisonburg, Va, but this was also a much better hotel despite the same flagship name. We are coming back and will use this as our 'home' as we visit Bristol, Elizabeth City, and Jonesville as it is so near the Tennessee and Kentucky borders of Virginia. Lovely countryside and mountain views.

Room Tip: Kingsize, no smoking with handicapped access did not have a walk in shower but offered a shower stoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for all of your wonderful comments about your time at our lovely hotel. We are so very pleased to see that you will be thinking of us the next time that you come this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    150
    40
    15
    6
See reviews for
207
129
29
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great Value! Huge rooms. Easy check in even though I didn't have a reservation, the lady at the desk easily found us a room in the location of the hotel requested. Room was super clean, extra large (you could have fit a third bed in there), and very quiet and comfortable. Staff were very pleasant. Motel is close to the interstate for easy access.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tn_Rural_Carrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
We are so very pleased to see that you pleased with your stay. We hope that in the future that if you all are traveling this way again that you will make a planned stop to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Wainwright
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great place. Stumbled across this place by accident because of a long travel day. Easy access to the intersections, quiet, clean, great staff. Not really enough great adjectives available to describe this place. Totally agree with the other comments about this place. Stay here if you're travelling and need a clean, quite comfortable place to stay. It was only a one stay but I'll be staying here next time I pass through this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Even though it wasn't a planned stop I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!! We do love many adjectives to describe how wonderful your stay was. We hope that when you all come this way again that you will think of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Having a terrible experience at the Best Western at midnight, Patrick at the Country Inn saved me. He was incredibly pleasant and helpful. By the time I checked in it was 1.30am. The hotel is quite nice and reasonable. The room was really clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows great. They have a pool, workout room and a terrific hot breakfast. Highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: I had double Room 201, in a corner and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annlisa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are so very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at another facility in town, but are glad to hear that we could be there for you so early in the morning. We are so glad to hear that you were pleased with all of our ameneties and staff. I will make certain to pass along your wonderful comments about of staff member Patrick!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
150 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here on our way to the Great Smokies. The hotel was perfect in almost every way. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was just as advertised. The pool and spa were perfect for unwinding after a long drive. The hotel sold beer and wine at reasonable prices. Plus the cost of the room was definately a bargain. This is a great choice for any traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRoman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are so happy to see that you found our hotel on your travels down to the beautiful Smoky Mountains. We are very pleased to see that you found everything at our hotel to be comfortable and pleasant. We hope to see you if your travels bring you back through our area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We have been staying in this Country Inn for years. It's our "go to" place for Hokie football games. The AWESOME front desk staff makes us come back over and over. It's clean, beds are comfortable and CLEAN. Breakfast is terrific with lots to pick from. There is NEVER any complants from our family regarding this Country Inn. I wish ALL of them looked like this!!

Room Tip: This is ALWAYS a great place to stay. Front desk manager is awesome and her staff is pleasant and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanrealtor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for all the positive comments about the staff, breakfast and hotel in general! We always love to hear comments like this from our return guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CT
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on the way to Atlanta from Northern CT. It's a pretty typical Country Inn and Suites. There were a few ups and downs worth mentioning.
First, the upsides: the pool was specially equipped for handicapped people with a chair that could be lowered into the water. Thoughtful and inclusive. The whirlpool was an excellent temperature. I would estimate about 95 degrees. Hot without being oppressive. Upon checking in, the desk offered us a list of area restaurants, which is always a great idea and makes it easier to decide on a supper choice. There are a surprising number of restaurants in the area, just about every chain and a fair number of locals.
Somewhat downsides: the bed seemed old and tired, too soft and not supportive at all. The pool was chilly, maybe 74 or 75 degrees, but to be fair I was there for perhaps a half hour and I was the only person there. It's expensive to heat a pool for limited use. The breakfast was OK, but only a 7 of 10 on the CI&S breakfast scale.
For the rest, it was a typical Country Inn experience. I've always found them dependable and affordable.

Room Tip: There are four floors and an elevator. If upper floors and/or elevators aren't attractive for yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vacation People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am so very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay traveling through our area. We are always so appreciative of positive and constructive comments that we can use to make your next stay much better than the last!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wytheville hotels
1.0 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Wytheville
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Wytheville
Comfort Suites Wytheville
#4 of 20 in Wytheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wytheville
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wytheville
Hampton Inn Wytheville
#6 of 20 in Wytheville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn
BEST WESTERN Wytheville Inn
#11 of 20 in Wytheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
Address: 697 Peppers Ferry Road, Wytheville, VA 24382
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wytheville
#2 Family Hotel in Wytheville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Wytheville
Country Inn And Suites
Country Inn Wytheville
Wytheville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing