We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not worth the price we paid.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice but not worth the price we paid.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stopped at the Country Inn and Suites on our way through the mountains, looking for a nice one bedroom suite & pool to enjoy mid way through a long drive. Though it is a nice hotel, we found many parts of our room lacking. Though there were two night tables, only one of them had a lamp on it. Since most of the electrical outlets in the room were in the lamp, it made plugging things in difficult and didn't allow the person on the other side of the King bed any individual light with which to read, etc. The bathroom had a very strong smell of smoke as if someone had been sneaking cigarettes in there & the smell was made worse by the fan running. They did take $10 off the room without being asked when I mentioned the smell & that they might want to change the filter before the next guest. They also offered to move our room but by the time we found the smell we had already settled into our room with 2 small children and we were to exhausted to do so. We were also disappointed that the doors on the closet were not on properly and one side almost fell onto my toddler son standing next to me when I opened it. The fridge was also not cold at all with no obvious means to turn the temp down to make it so. Since the ice machine on our floor did not work, we had to go downstairs to get ice to put in the fridge to keep our drinks and leftovers from dinner cool enough to keep to the next day. All of things are each small issues, and the only thing we mentioned to the hotel was the smoke smell in the bathroom since we were so tired-however added up and when combined with the very small size of the suite, we just found the cost of the room (@$150), not worth what we got. I do want to say that the room, pool, breakfast area and hotel in general seemed very clean, though parts of the bathroom tiles were falling off or held on by tape. The front desk person, Shea, was extremely professional & helpful, going above and beyond with customer service and the breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqTravBlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    160
    41
    19
    6
See reviews for
226
140
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

First time staying at this Country Inn and Suites. We got here quicker than anticipated and the deskclerk was kind enough to let us check in early. We had a king bed room and it was so comfortable and clean. The front desk was very helpful as well with a local map with restaurants indicated. I would definitely choose to stay at this C I & S again!

Room Tip: I agree with one of the other travelers comments - I could also hear footsteps above me in the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DE_MOM815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time in our hotel. I will make sure to pass along to our staff the wonderful compliments that you shared about their dedication to making everyone's stay perfect. I do apologize about the footsteps above you, anytime you have an issue please feel free to phone the front desk and we are always willing to do everything in our power to make certain your stay in as comfortable as it possibly can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time staying here. It felt just as clean and new as it did 2 years ago. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Pool hours were awesome (midnight closing and back open at 530 am this particular evening). I did notice that you can hear footsteps above you so you may want to consider requesting a room on the top floor if you think this would bother you. I definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your return stay to our hotel! All of your positive comments are always wonderful to hear from such valued guests. We hope that you will come stay with us again when your travels bring you through our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville, Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very nice place; very clean, very friendly staff, but hard to find and pretty expensive. No adjacent dining, but there is a little only a short drive away.

Getting to this place from 81 requires hitting 77 then taking exit 41 then looping around and traveling BACK under 81. The noise from the interstate can get a bit loud.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for all your positive comments. We are a little hard to find but our friendly staff is always more than willing to give you great directions to any location including us or a great place to have dinner. We hope that your travels will bring us back to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
194 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

this inn is fairly new, has very friendly and helpful employees, great pool area, is quiet, clean and located near lots of eating places. breakfast service had lots of choices and was well furnished. will stop again when in the area

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you not only enjoyed our wonderful hot extended breakfast but also our employees were very helpful. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWTOWNABBEY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at short notice for 2 nights. Excellent room, clean fresh and quiet. Breakfast was also excellent and varied. The hotel staff are friendly, knowledgeable and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is varied and food levels high with much fresh fruit. We would recommend this hotel to all travellers as great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THOMAS W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. I will make sure to pass along these positive comments to not only our front desk employees but as well as our breakfast ladies. We know that traveling on short notice can sometimes be very stressful and we're very happy that we could make your two night stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here overnight as my family was passing through town. We were in a 1 bedroom suite (separate living room and bedroom, with door dividing) on the 4th floor. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. There were a few scratches and dents around the room, and I mean very few. This was not bothersome as this will occur at any hotel or home. Bed was very comfortable and I appreciated that the bathroom was connected to the living room and not the bedroom (since putting little ones to bed before myself). The hotel staff was extremely kind and I felt welcomed more than anywhere else I have stayed. Cookies and fruit were available in the lobby as we arrived which is a nice touch. Breakfast had a variety of options, although a few more protein choices would have been nice. Hotel staff on the phone even told me where I could locate a coupon for our room (when talking on the phone with them beforehand and asking for anyway to get a discount) and saved us $40! I think this hotel is a wonderful deal for the price! We will stay here again if return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emonnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belinda B, Guest Relations Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
We are so appreciative of your wonderful comments about our hotel. I will make sure to pass these positive comments along to our staff! We hope that your next visit to our area that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wytheville hotels
1.0 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Wytheville
Comfort Suites Wytheville
#4 of 20 in Wytheville
369 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Wytheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Wytheville
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Wytheville
Hampton Inn Wytheville
#8 of 20 in Wytheville
551 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Wytheville Inn
Best Western Wytheville Inn
#11 of 20 in Wytheville
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
Address: 697 Peppers Ferry Rd, Wytheville, VA 24382-2065
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wytheville
#2 Business Hotel in Wytheville
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Wytheville
Country Inn And Suites
Country Inn Wytheville
Wytheville Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing