We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
182
9
4
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
182
9
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvirginia roomgourmet breakfastget awaysperfect place to get awayfantastic hostsget away from it allbed and breakfastmountain streamperfect getawaytouring the blue ridge parkwayhighly recommend this b bfire pitbirthday weekenddietary restrictionsbeautiful creeka wonderful place to staysitting room
Filter
Updating list...
171 - 176 of 199 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2009

Lovely, well maintained B & B. When you enter the front door, you know you have found the right place. The rooms are all different and it is nice to have choice. They include fireplaces, if needed, personality, comfort, in-room coffee service and all the amenities that you need to make yourself at home.
We enjoyed 2 breakfasts and they were excellent. The "gathering" room, with the fireplace, was an excellent place to meet other guest. If you did not choose that, there are several verandas to sit in the rocking chairs and do nothing. I enjoyed both.

What I would like to say is, it is so nice to leave home and get away--- feel instantly at home with no worries and only have compliments for the innkeepers.

We look forward to our return.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank queeni_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

The Mountain Rose Inn is an incredible B&B. Beautifule home, fantastic scenery, phenomenal breakfast and topping it off the nicest inkeepers who bend over backwards to make you feel at home. Mike and Dora Jane treat you like family. If your visiting in the Roanoke, Woolwine or Floyd area this is the only place to stay. We plan on returning again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackers346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2009

This past New Year's Eve was our second visit to the Mountain Rose and it was definitely not our last. From the second you arrive, Mike and Dora Jane (Innkeepers) welcome you like extended family or long-time friends that seldom get to visit. The multi-course breakfasts are phenomenal, the rooms are clean, classic and comfortable and the property is tucked away from anything urban or planned-suburban. We have a ritual of enjoying a dinner in the nearby town of Floyd, going for a 10 mile hike along the scenic Rocky Knob trail (20 min away on the Blue Ridge Pkwy) the next morning, after breakfast of course, treating ourselves to a nice dinner at Chateau Morisette winery and enjoying one more breakfast before coming back to the grind in northern VA. We can't say enough about the hospitality of Mike & Dora Jane... when we arrived this past visit, we accidentally arrived ONE DAY EARLY and they had just returned from a trip late the night before. We caught them totally off guard and instead of sending us away for the night, they apologized for not having the opportunity to be fully prepared for our visit. Tremendously accommodating to say the least. Go ahead and book.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hieu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Mountain Rose Inn Oct. 30-Nov. 2. Not only is the Inn beautiful, but the location is breathtaking! The the large stream in front of the Inn is a great place to relax and unwind while watching Maggie (the Inn's golden retreiver) and Cat play. Dora and Mike are fantastic and see that you have everything you need and more. The breakfast is amazing - you find you don't even need lunch. Our room "Pride of Virginia" was cozy and spacious with 2 private balconies. Several of the couples we met were on return visits to the Inn, and we plan to do the same. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2008

We spent a night at the Mountain Rose Inn passing through from the Greak Smokies to Washington.

It's a beautiful, tranquil place. The room we had was fantastic, decorated to the highest order and with a gas fire to take the early autumn chill off. The innkeepers were first class in their service and the breakfast was brilliant.

It's only minutes from the Blue Ridge Parkway, so a perfect stop off spot. We got some cheese and wine from Chateau Morrisette for supper and ate it in the cosy front room.

Make sure you take a walk in the extensive grounds.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AlexBalham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews