We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful relaxing setting!”
Review of Mountain Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mountain Rose Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Woolwine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were in town visiting family and decided to stay at the Mountain Rose Inn. It was a wonderful experience from the excellent breakfasts to the serene surroundings to the wonderful staff. Everyone was so helpful and friendly Next time we go back, we will certainly visit again. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

The highlight of our visit was watching the stars one evening. Just amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Rose, Manager at Mountain Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Tim,

Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts about your stay at the Mountain Rose. We're so glad to know that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to seeing you again.

All our best to you!
The Mountain Rose Inn Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 190 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a hidden gem in the Blue Ridge Mountains! Close to Floyd which now has many wonderful restaurants and Friday night in Floyd is not to be missed! The house is spectacular and the rooms were excellent. Lots of spaces to be along or meet other people. With a mountain stream running directly in front it has lots of charm to offer. AND the softest sheets ever - ask about them! We bought a set to take home! And even though there was a full house they accommodated our gluten free request!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluemoonistic_Images
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

First off, I would like to say that I am writing this review from the comfort of my MRI bed, with a nice cozy fire going next to me. I decided to take my girlfriend here for her spring break from college in Eastern Virginia, just to get away. I would also like to point out that this is our first B&B experience.
Now onto my review, when we arrived, we were a little earlier than the posted check in time, so we decided to walk the grounds. As we walked, we took many pictures of the house and the grounds surrounding the house. It is an unbelievably beautiful house and grounds. Once it was about time to check inn, we were greeted right away by a very friendly hostess who gave us a tour of the house and then showed us to our room. Upon arrival to our room, we entered and after we looked around, she asked us if there was anything else we needed, we told her that we were fine. She then told us not to hesitate to ring for her if there was anything we needed.
Once we settled in, we saw that there was absolutely nothing we needed; everything we could want was provided: Comfortable bedding, picturesque views from our room windows and the porch adjoining our room, en suite bathroom, working gas fireplace, snacks, drinks, microwave, a refrigerator, coffee maker, etc. It was truly wonderful to know that we had all this as compared to a regular hotel room. Coming here from our 100+ year old home, this home is very cozy and it has a very homely feel to it. It has a lot of the same characteristics that we are used to and love. So we made ourselves at home and fell asleep almost immediately on the amazingly comfortable bed.
Upon waking up in the morning, we did not want to move, the beds are just that comfortable. Once we drug ourselves out of bed, we got dressed and went downstairs to breakfast. Words cannot describe how wonderful our breakfast was, we couldn't stop eating, and there was no shortage of food. After eating, we left for the day and drove to everywhere we wanted to go i.e. wineries, restaurants, towns, shopping. Everywhere we went was relatively close to the Inn and we had no problem finding our way around. We had originally planned to stay for 2 nights, but after our treatment, service, and overall satisfaction with MRI, we decided to stay another night. Best away from home lodging I have every experienced. We will definitely come back often.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We just spent a short weekend here from DC and it was definitely worth the drive. We elected for the babymoon package to get some nice R&R and it was wonderful. Great rooms, great service, great food! The in-room massages were wonderful. It is located in a remote area of Woolwine, but restaurants and other attractions are just a 20-30 minute drive away. The Chateau restaurant was definitely worth the drive for an upscale dining experience and I imagine would be a great winery tour had I had been able to drink! The innkeepers definitely take great care of the Inn and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a remote weekend getaway. I can imagine how nice it would be in the warmer months when the pool is open and there are other things to do. In the winter, this was the perfect quiet getaway to just relax and read by the fireplace.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Daisy Delight room which faces the front of the property. It had a king sized bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

My husband and I just spent our 9th anniversary at the Mountain Rose Inn. We could not have chosen a better place to spend time together. The house is splendid and has been beautifully restored. The property is private, surrounded by woods and winding roads, yet easy to locate. The innkeeper, Dawn, greeted us with a smile and had everything ready for our arrival, including afternoon sherry and a cheese and cracker platter. Dawn is truly a lovely person, being friendly and helpful, yet non-intrusive. (We had visited before and found the previous innkeepers to be slightly arrogant/aloof) Any amenity you could wish for was at our disposal, and the bed slept so well!! (Love those Comphy sheets!) The house is a wonderful mix of antique furniture and modern conveniences - it is a true gem. Our breakfast was right on time, absolutely delicious, and we were seated at a table by the window where we could enjoy the snow falling. FYI: They have their own blend of coffee which is far better than any you can buy from Starbucks (Thank you Dawn, for my gift :) Please have no reservations if you are considering the Mountain Rose Inn...you will enjoy every minute of your visit!

Room Tip: Daisy's Delight has a great view from the windows and access to the upstairs porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reece2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My wife and I decided to elope. While we were not having a crowd (or any guests) for our wedding, we still wanted a wedding experience. After some searching, we decided to book the elopement package at the Mountain Rose Inn.

We booked online shortly after the Innkeepers switched, and were concerned because our booking had been based on reviews from the previous Innkeepers; however, Christie, the current Innkeeper, handled everything beautifully. We had several special requests, and she was able to accommodate everything we asked for. We were able to specify the type of ceremony, select our flowers, select a photographer, give preference of wine, schedule massages, schedule a dinner at the Inn, and pick the flavor of wedding cake baked for us.

The ceremony on the grounds was wonderful. The officiant selected did an excellent job, and the photographer, Robert Lipscomb, provided us with top-notch photos. Christie provided us with sparkling wine, and the assistant Innkeeper Dawn baked us a delicious red velvet cake. We definitely received the wedding experience we were looking for.

As for the Inn itself, it is a charming old house. The creek running across the front is peaceful and pretty. There were various trails through the woods around the Inn, and walking these was a source of enjoyment for us. The room we stayed in, The Pride of Virginia, was more spacious than I’d expect for a bed and breakfast. The Mountain Rose Inn makes a big deal about their sheets, and for good reason- these were some of the most comfortable sheets we have ever slept on. The room was surprisingly warm; we never had to use our in-room fireplace. The shower is spacious, with great water pressure and heat. We missed having a bathtub, but the quality of the shower almost made up for it. Having an HDTV with DirecTV was nice; however, the built-in DVD player seemed to have some problems. We were able to get movies to play, but were not able to skip scenes, pause the movie, etc. Also, if I were to have one complaint, the bathroom is stocked with one-ply toilet tissue. One-ply! Bring your soft tissue from home.

The food was great. I am a meat eater and my wife is a vegetarian; Christie and her staff were able to provide and cook a menu that accommodated us both. The dinner was excellent, as were each of the breakfasts. The breakfast buffet on Sunday had a bowl of bacon; really, what more could you ask for? We selected a breakfast in bed for one morning, which was nice, and served to us well. We also did a wine and cheese basket. This was just superb, one of the best things we experienced while at the Mountain Rose Inn. There were a variety of sliced cheeses and crackers, several types of chocolate, fresh fruit, utensils, and the wine itself. Each of the wines selected for us was good, and most of them were local Virginia wines. We were surrounded by chocolate: chocolate on our pillows, on our cups, in a bowl in our room, in a bowl by the guest book, in our gift basket, in our wine and cheese basket, and laid out for us when we arrived. Some of these were from the elopement package, but there was an overall abundance of chocolate at the Inn.

The coffee was some type of flavored coffee. Not our preference, but perhaps it is overall a crowd pleaser. Having sherry laid out in the afternoon was a good touch, and I strongly recommend sitting in the study while sipping on a glass.

I am not a fan of massages, but my wife assures me the masseuse did an excellent job.

To say we were pleased was an understatement. Christie and her staff went well out of their way to make us feel special not just on our wedding day but for our entire stay. We most highly recommend the Mountain Rose Inn, whether for a special occasion or a simple weekend getaway.

Room Tip: The Pride of Virginia is the only room with private porches. Great for a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephAndBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

My husband and I had the wonderful good fortune to stay at the Mountain Rose Inn on a recent vacation. The Inn is beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, and the rooms are very spacious. Our hosts were very friendly and generous with information about the Inn and the surrounding gorgeous property. We enjoyed a peaceful walk along the river, and a late night glass of wine on the upstairs veranda, while we watched the distant cars navigate the winding mountain roads. Breakfast was a gourmet treat including baked apples, southwest egg bake with roasted corn and tomatoes, and blackberry confit. It was elegantly served by one of the hosts, who went out of her way to make our stay comfortable and satisfying.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolwine
8.6 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
54 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsville
Hampton Inn Martinsville
#1 of 6 in Martinsville
316 reviews
11.4 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
527 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mountain Song Inn
Mountain Song Inn
#1 of 2 in Willis
202 reviews
23.8 mi away
The Oaks Victorian Inn
The Oaks Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Christiansburg
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Rose Inn

Address: 1787 Charity Hwy, Rt 40, Woolwine, VA 24185-3606
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Woolwine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woolwine
Price Range: $148 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Rose Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Historical Country Elegance in the Blue Ridge Mountains." 1901 farmhouse with five rooms, private in room baths, and working fireplaces. Near Blue Ridge Parkway, Chateau Morrisette winery. Gourmet breakfast, 100 private acres, trails, weddings and reunions and trout stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Mountain Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing