We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Woodberry Inn(Meadows of Dan)(Great Value!)
$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deluxe Inn(Martinsville)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Dutch Inn(Collinsville)
$55
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
180
9
4
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
9
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvirginia roomgourmet breakfastget awaysperfect place to get awayfantastic hostsget away from it allbed and breakfastmountain streamperfect getawaydriving the blue ridge parkwayhighly recommend this b bfire pitbirthday weekenddietary restrictionsbeautiful creeka wonderful place to staysitting room
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 197 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Mike and Dora Jane were great and very helpful for all our needs. It is a very peaceful place and very well run and maintained. Would go back again! Again we "Loved" it !!!! It is a little out of the way but that's what we were looking for. We didn't mind driving the mountain roads to reach such a beautitul place. It is a very old house but restored to the utmost.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Mountain Rose Inn is just outside of Woolwine, and it is a few miles up and over the Blue Ridge to Clyde, Va. The Blue Ridge parkway is nearby. We arrived by driving North on the Parkway and the directions supplied were good and helpful.

The Inn is in a quiet, almost secluded location along a lovely creek. The environment is very fine, and a bright Spring or Fall day would invite lounging on the veranda or the outside decks. A BBQ might even be a good idea.

The B&B is excellent, the room we had was very comfortable. Mike and Dora may now be on their way back to South Carolina from whence they came so we don't know who may be the hosts if you go; Mike and Dora were gracious and helpful hosts. Breakfasts were fine and they gave us good tips for dining out and for hiking.

The only drawback to the location is that Dinner venues are a bit of a drive away, and the road up to Clyde is a very winding road. We had no real trouble with it but we might have preferred to be closer to a nice dinner spot.

It was snowing in late March on the Sunday we left, and we took it slow and easy down the mountain to the East. A drive to dinner in the snow on a dark night might have been troublesome, but fortunately did not have that problem.

We did encounter a block on the Blue Ridge parkway returning from dinner and the detour directions Mike and Dora supplied worked fine.

Room Tip: Ask good questions of the Innkeepers to assure you get what you want.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent last night and this morning at the Rose Mountain Inn and had a wonderful experience. We got stuck in a bit of a late season snow,but Mike and Dora Jane were lovely when we arrived after typical check-in time. The Inn has been well thought out with attention to detail. Breakfast was FANTASTIC! It is a definite re-visit for us!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We decided to stay here after we read the reviews and where also recommended on a TA forum. We were doing a US roadtrip which was completed by driving the BRP.

The house itself is beautiful, off the beaten track and by the side of a small river. The house is old and is decorated to compliment this. We didn't go into the lounge area, it was so very dark and unappealing. The veranda was excellent though, with several rocking chairs to enjoy the surroundings.

Our room was nice, in keeping with the period. It was clean and the bed was small but comfortable. It did have a musty smell though..ok it’s an old house, but we have stayed in similar period houses which managed to be rid of such odours.

The breakfast was very nice, as with most good B&B breakfasts in America, there was plenty of it.

The owner helped by recommending a good place to eat that night – an Italian (Mike Gs?), one of the best we’ve ever had! He also kindly opened a bottle of wine for me, after an all day driving stint, a glass of wine on the veranda was most welcome. There was homemade cake on the side for guests to be tempted with.

The owners, while helpful and accommodating were quite distant (for want of a better word), although all our needs were met, they were not the most welcoming of hosts (seemingly judgemental / lack of smiles). An example was when we were leaving; we couldn’t find anyone to say thank you to. We could hear chores being carried out in the kitchen so knocked on the door a couple of times, there was no answer, so without being rude and just leaving without saying good bye, we opened the door to tell them we were off. We were met with a cold response from the owner (Mike), who seemed quite unhappy we had dared open the door to the kitchen area. Not the response we were looking for! For me it's not only the cleanliness and facilities of a B&B that matter, people who go for the B&B experience also quite rightly expect to be welcomed into the house and to feel comfortable at all times. It's a shame this one fell short in that area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ElizabethGClaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I got married at the Inn in October, and it was amazing! I really hate planning events because I don't like making decisions, and the Inn Keepers made it so easy. They asked us a few simple questions, and all we basically had to do was show up. Everything was PERFECT - they knew exactly what I wanted and how I wanted it. My husband and I were blown away by the hospitality and kindness of them, along with the entire town. Everybody there is extra nice, like in the movies. Plus, if they suggest a location, place, or person for your event - just trust them. The hair dresser did my hair EXACTLY how I wanted it, the cake was EXACTLY how I imagined it, and the photographs (done by the Inn Keepers) were of professional quality - even though they claim to not be professionals. I would highly recommend the Mountain Rose Inn!!!

Room Tip: They are all good
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank everafter107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews