We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic southern hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Rose Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Woolwine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Classic southern hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went to the Inn for our anniversary and were welcomed by Mike who showed us around the gorgeous 100+ year old inn. The innkeepers, Dora Jane and Mike, had been more than helpful with my husbands little surprises for me. Our room was wonderful. The bed was very comfortable, furnished with antique furniture. The 2nd floor porch was right outside of our room and had lots of comfy chairs and a glider to relax in. Dora Jane prepares a 4 course breakfast, served on beautiful antique china. She's self taught, but you would think she was a classicly trained gourmet chef. The only negative I would say about breakfast is that they serve flavored coffee. I don't really like flavored coffee and regular coffee was not offered. There are lots of places to rest and relax at the inn. Hearing the babbling brook, it beckons you to come and sit in one of the adirondack chairs and "sit a spell". As it says on the website, the linens are do die for - we even purchased a set. We met a couple who had been married at the inn a year before and used the elopement package the inn offered. They loved the inn so much that they came back for their 1st anniversary. If you stay here, keep in mind that there are not many stores or restaurants nearby, so planning your day is very important. The lovely town of Floyd is the closest location to find food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    7
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
147
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Mountain Rose Inn for our son's wedding. Thanks to Mike and Dora Jane for a wonderfully memorable occasion! Lovely, lovely people attending to everyone's needs. We were so very blessed to have had them take care of us. So very attentive to the smallest of details. I wish we could have had more time to spend with them at the Inn. I will never forget my stay at Mountain Rose Inn! Thank you so very much, Mike and Dora Jane.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We spent two nights at this beautiful inn and found it first class in every respect. The inn is set in a hidden meadow in the Blue Ridge Mountains with picturesque grounds and a flowing stream. The rooms are gorgeous and the inn keepers Dora Jane and Mike were gracious and attentive, southern hospitality at its best. At night they lit a fire pit alongside the stream and joined the guests sitting around the fire engaged in conversation. A magical evening! After a quiet and restful night we were treated to a breakfast to die for, and never wanted to leave the breakfast room. Overall the inn, grounds, and hosts were so perfect that you never need to leave the property. Just bring some books, settle into a chair on the porch, and try not to let the hummingbirds disturb your attention.

We have stayed in dozens of B&Bs around the world, seeking them out whenever we travel, and the Mountain Rose Inn ranks right up at the top. We look forward to our next stay here!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Mountain Rose Inn has become part of our yearly vacation. The area (Blue Ridge Mountains) is beautiful and the Inn is charming. We visit area wineries and historic landmarks and also do a little shopping while staying at the MRI. The entire package which includes a unique and beautiful room, a fantastic gourmet breakfast, and two of the nicest and hospitable innkeepers you could ever dream of is a bargain and well worth the price. If you are planning a vacation or visit to the area we would highly recommend that you stay at the Inn. We are planning on returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackers346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here on July 4, on the way to Tennessee for a wedding. First of all, the location of the inn is absolutely beautiful, albeit a bit isolated (expect to drive 15-20 minutes to get anywhere and be warned that there are not a ton of dining options, though this might have been because it was a holiday and most places were closed. We ate at a Mexican place in Stuart that was fine, but typical food). If you want to get away from it all, this is a great place. The property sits on a creek and is very picturesque. We were unlucky to have arrived during the midst of a terrible heat wave, so instead of it being refreshingly cool and breezy, it was hot and humid, which isn't so great when you have to lug all your bags up the narrow stairs in the house.

Now to the first problem...we asked for a room key to lock our door (it wasn't offered). We locked the door as we were bringing in luggage and when we came back, the door wouldn't open. We fiddled with it for awhile and finally had to get a handyman/neighbor down the road to come fix it. Turns out, people don't usually lock their doors here - which is fine - but the option should be made available to people such as us who had expensive belongings. And being an old house, the door had gotten stuck and simply wouldn't lock properly. This was annoying, but what could you do?

Another issue was the temperature. As I mentioned before, it was uncommonly warm - and that might have been why this was a problem. There was no individual temperature control, only a central AC that was programmed from downstairs, and the room was quite warm. There was a fan in the room, but it was tiny and incredibly noisy, which made sleeping almost impossible. I would recommend offering larger fans to guests (and replacing the old, rattle-y one in our room) for future heat waves.

We didn't feel like we got to know the innkeepers, as they weren't there when we arrived and we only saw them briefly the next morning. From all accounts I've read, they are very nice, and seemed to be in our interaction with them, but no one asked us how our stay was or if we had any issues.

Now, the goods: the breakfast was OUTSTANDING. Strawberry yogurt parfaits, ham and egg cups with cheddar, and some sort of peach pastry. Really, it was one of the best breakfasts I've ever had. The room was well-appointed and I think we would have been very comfortable had the temperature been adjusted. There is a pool on the property, which is a nice touch, and they provide towels for you on the pool deck.

Overall, I think if our issues had been addressed, this would have been a very nice experience. Unfortunately, the two mishaps we had made it so that we were rather dissatisfied with the money spent for what we received.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lhw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Rose, Manager at Mountain Rose Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear lhw13,
 
Thanks so much for noting the positives of your stay here with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, and that the beauty of the Inn and the property were not completely lost in the heat wave that had blanketed the entire East coast.
 
We sincerely regret that you did not feel comfortable speaking with our staff here at the Inn. We have a policy that any complaint (small or big) is an opportunity to deliver award-winning service to our guests. And in that spirit, we provide many ways for our guests to let us know of problems. An innkeeper is always on duty to address problems immediately. Doorbells that ring the Inn’s office and personal quarters 24/7 are located on the check-in table. Our cell phone numbers are listed right by the guest phone. There are comment cards in every room directory in case guests are shy about mentioning a problem, and a space is provided on the check-out form for guests to comment on any maintenance issues or other items that we as a staff can improve on. Unfortunately, we have found no record of any complaint until this review posting, and so we were not able to address the issues while you were here or to apologize as you were checking out. Our staff takes our jobs here at the Inn seriously, and we want to deliver our very best, every time, to every guest. To that end, we will make an even greater effort of questioning our guests about their comfort and needs while they are with us.
 
We also regret that you weren’t able to experience the majority of our area’s excellent restaurants since they may have been closed for Independence Day. Being innkeepers of a rurally located property, we believe that we are truly blessed to have as many fantastic dining options as we do all within just 20 minutes of the Inn.
 
We do apologize for not being available to spend more time with you than we did during your stay. Our conversation over breakfast just wasn’t quite long enough. It was interesting to hear about your plans for your stay in TN. Hope that we can go to the Grand Ol’ Opry some day as it is on our list of great places to experience also!
 
Just to explain a little more - our church holds an annual picnic and fireworks to celebrate the Fourth. It’s a delightful event, and one that we had invited all our guests to attend with us. We left directions for you in case you wanted to join us. For years, we have missed all or part of this event because of work obligations here at the Inn. So this year, we asked our assistant innkeeper, who was willing to work on the holiday, to be on duty so that we could have the evening off.
 
In our 7 years as innkeepers, this was the first deadbolt jam for us – and what a jam apparently! We know that our assistant immediately called our friend who helps at the Inn on occasion to come over to help un-jam the door, but we are so sorry this happened to you. He rushed over so quickly that he forgot to bring any tools, but thankfully, he was able to get the door open for you with the key itself. Our house was built in 1901, and the Inn's 35 wood doors are original, not styrofoam filled. (In fact, nearly everything about the house is original – including the stairs so they are not quite as wide as modern day stairways.) When heat and humidity come to roost in the valley, the wood doors expand. Due to the extreme heat passing through that week, the door in your room had apparently expanded more than usual, causing the dead bolt to jam when you locked it with the key that our assistant had given you. In cooler weather, of course, the doors constrict and then they swing and lock just fine. It is one of the joys of maintaining this man-made treasure! Since your stay, the wood around the dead-bolt has been sanded a bit so that our future summer-time guests will not have this difficulty when they lock the door.
 
One issue that we would like to clarify is that we do indeed lock doors around here, though we are blessed to live a safe community where crime is not an issue. Obviously, it would be a security issue if we did not lock the doors. All the exterior doors of the Inn are secured, and there is a front-door keypad with a combination given only to our guests. All of the room doors have two deadbolts that guests can use to secure their rooms.
 
We did a full inspection of your room after reading this review as this was only time that we had heard of a temperature issue in that room. The thermostat, located up stairs, controls the upstairs living quarters and it is a new 16 SEER, 5-ton unit that delivers plenty of cool air. (A separate 5-ton unit controls the down stairs.) We found that a previous guests had nearly closed one of the air-conditioning vents in your room restricting the airflow, causing the room to be a little warmer than the others.  We are still shaking our heads over this because these vents are located in the Inn’s 9+ foot high ceilings, and we are not sure how they managed to close this vent. We have opened the vent and oiled the fan so that future guests will be comfortable.
 
We sincerely apologize for the difficulties that you had during your stay with us, and regret that we weren’t able to address these issues while you were with us.
 
All our best in your future travels,
Mike & Dora Jane Barwick
Innkeepers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. The MRI was our first experience. It exceeded all of our expectations. Mike and Dora Jane were perfect hosts. We stayed in the Pride of Virginia and it was gorgeous. The breakfast was superb! The grounds were wonderful with all the amenities one could ask for (pool, hiking trails, hammocks to relax in, a creek to fish in, and the list goes on). It was the most serene vacation we have ever had. We live hectic and at times stressful lives. This was the perfect getaway to allow us to decompress and re-energize. As we played games on the gazebo, Mike brought us turtle brownies as an afternoon snack. This is just one of many examples of the extra touches that were provided. I highly recommend the Mountain Rose Inn for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Mountain Rose Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Lenora C,

We are so delighted that your first time B&B stay was here at the Mountain Rose and that you enjoyed your visit here. Through the course of our own personal travels, we've found that B&Bs are indeed special places! The turtle brownies were a new recipe that I tried and will make again soon for other guests.

Take care,
Dora Jane Barwick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts and this was one of the very best ones. The room was beautiful the view even more so and the breakfast... Oh the breakfast!! I have a pretty severe food allergy and they were so sweet and accommodating about it. Some people are so grudging about a food sensitivity and some can embarrass you in front of other guests but The Mountain Rose Inn was so wonderful. They didn't make me feel self-conscious about it at all AND my food was still incredible. So good we ate so much we usually didn't even need lunch.

I just can't say enough for the Inn Keepers they were the epitome of hospitality. They went way above and beyond what was expected. We spent a very relaxing time enjoying the pool and scenery and walking in the beautiful woods. I can't recommend this place enough!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessieheninger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolwine
8.5 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsville
Hampton Inn Martinsville
#1 of 6 in Martinsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
21.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Martinsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
11.9 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
24.2 mi away
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
Wolf Creek Farm B & B
#1 of 1 in Ararat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Rose Inn

Property: Mountain Rose Inn
Address: 1787 Charity Highway (Rt 40), Rt 40, Woolwine, VA 24185
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Woolwine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woolwine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Historical Country Elegance in the Blue Ridge Mountains." 1901 farmhouse with five rooms, private in room baths, and working fireplaces. Near Blue Ridge Parkway, Chateau Morrisette winery. Gourmet breakfast, 100 private acres, trails, weddings and reunions and trout stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mountain Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing