We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Woodberry Inn(Meadows of Dan)(Great Value!)
$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Deluxe Inn(Martinsville)
$59
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $88/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Quality Inn Dutch Inn(Collinsville)
$55
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
180
9
4
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
9
4
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvirginia roomgourmet breakfastget awaysperfect place to get awayfantastic hostsget away from it allbed and breakfastmountain streamperfect getawaydriving the blue ridge parkwayhighly recommend this b bfire pitbirthday weekenddietary restrictionsbeautiful creeka wonderful place to staysitting room
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 197 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The Mountain Rose Inn has become part of our yearly vacation. The area (Blue Ridge Mountains) is beautiful and the Inn is charming. We visit area wineries and historic landmarks and also do a little shopping while staying at the MRI. The entire package which includes a unique and beautiful room, a fantastic gourmet breakfast, and two of the nicest and hospitable innkeepers you could ever dream of is a bargain and well worth the price. If you are planning a vacation or visit to the area we would highly recommend that you stay at the Inn. We are planning on returning next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jackers346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here on July 4, on the way to Tennessee for a wedding. First of all, the location of the inn is absolutely beautiful, albeit a bit isolated (expect to drive 15-20 minutes to get anywhere and be warned that there are not a ton of dining options, though this might have been because it was a holiday and most places were closed. We ate at a Mexican place in Stuart that was fine, but typical food). If you want to get away from it all, this is a great place. The property sits on a creek and is very picturesque. We were unlucky to have arrived during the midst of a terrible heat wave, so instead of it being refreshingly cool and breezy, it was hot and humid, which isn't so great when you have to lug all your bags up the narrow stairs in the house.

Now to the first problem...we asked for a room key to lock our door (it wasn't offered). We locked the door as we were bringing in luggage and when we came back, the door wouldn't open. We fiddled with it for awhile and finally had to get a handyman/neighbor down the road to come fix it. Turns out, people don't usually lock their doors here - which is fine - but the option should be made available to people such as us who had expensive belongings. And being an old house, the door had gotten stuck and simply wouldn't lock properly. This was annoying, but what could you do?

Another issue was the temperature. As I mentioned before, it was uncommonly warm - and that might have been why this was a problem. There was no individual temperature control, only a central AC that was programmed from downstairs, and the room was quite warm. There was a fan in the room, but it was tiny and incredibly noisy, which made sleeping almost impossible. I would recommend offering larger fans to guests (and replacing the old, rattle-y one in our room) for future heat waves.

We didn't feel like we got to know the innkeepers, as they weren't there when we arrived and we only saw them briefly the next morning. From all accounts I've read, they are very nice, and seemed to be in our interaction with them, but no one asked us how our stay was or if we had any issues.

Now, the goods: the breakfast was OUTSTANDING. Strawberry yogurt parfaits, ham and egg cups with cheddar, and some sort of peach pastry. Really, it was one of the best breakfasts I've ever had. The room was well-appointed and I think we would have been very comfortable had the temperature been adjusted. There is a pool on the property, which is a nice touch, and they provide towels for you on the pool deck.

Overall, I think if our issues had been addressed, this would have been a very nice experience. Unfortunately, the two mishaps we had made it so that we were rather dissatisfied with the money spent for what we received.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank lhw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain-Rose, Manager at Mountain Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear lhw13,
 
Thanks so much for noting the positives of your stay here with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast, and that the beauty of the Inn and the property were not completely lost in the heat wave that had blanketed the entire East coast.
 
We sincerely regret that you did not feel comfortable speaking with our staff here at the Inn. We have a policy that any complaint (small or big) is an opportunity to deliver award-winning service to our guests. And in that spirit, we provide many ways for our guests to let us know of problems. An innkeeper is always on duty to address problems immediately. Doorbells that ring the Inn’s office and personal quarters 24/7 are located on the check-in table. Our cell phone numbers are listed right by the guest phone. There are comment cards in every room directory in case guests are shy about mentioning a problem, and a space is provided on the check-out form for guests to comment on any maintenance issues or other items that we as a staff can improve on. Unfortunately, we have found no record of any complaint until this review posting, and so we were not able to address the issues while you were here or to apologize as you were checking out. Our staff takes our jobs here at the Inn seriously, and we want to deliver our very best, every time, to every guest. To that end, we will make an even greater effort of questioning our guests about their comfort and needs while they are with us.
 
We also regret that you weren’t able to experience the majority of our area’s excellent restaurants since they may have been closed for Independence Day. Being innkeepers of a rurally located property, we believe that we are truly blessed to have as many fantastic dining options as we do all within just 20 minutes of the Inn.
 
We do apologize for not being available to spend more time with you than we did during your stay. Our conversation over breakfast just wasn’t quite long enough. It was interesting to hear about your plans for your stay in TN. Hope that we can go to the Grand Ol’ Opry some day as it is on our list of great places to experience also!
 
Just to explain a little more - our church holds an annual picnic and fireworks to celebrate the Fourth. It’s a delightful event, and one that we had invited all our guests to attend with us. We left directions for you in case you wanted to join us. For years, we have missed all or part of this event because of work obligations here at the Inn. So this year, we asked our assistant innkeeper, who was willing to work on the holiday, to be on duty so that we could have the evening off.
 
In our 7 years as innkeepers, this was the first deadbolt jam for us – and what a jam apparently! We know that our assistant immediately called our friend who helps at the Inn on occasion to come over to help un-jam the door, but we are so sorry this happened to you. He rushed over so quickly that he forgot to bring any tools, but thankfully, he was able to get the door open for you with the key itself. Our house was built in 1901, and the Inn's 35 wood doors are original, not styrofoam filled. (In fact, nearly everything about the house is original – including the stairs so they are not quite as wide as modern day stairways.) When heat and humidity come to roost in the valley, the wood doors expand. Due to the extreme heat passing through that week, the door in your room had apparently expanded more than usual, causing the dead bolt to jam when you locked it with the key that our assistant had given you. In cooler weather, of course, the doors constrict and then they swing and lock just fine. It is one of the joys of maintaining this man-made treasure! Since your stay, the wood around the dead-bolt has been sanded a bit so that our future summer-time guests will not have this difficulty when they lock the door.
 
One issue that we would like to clarify is that we do indeed lock doors around here, though we are blessed to live a safe community where crime is not an issue. Obviously, it would be a security issue if we did not lock the doors. All the exterior doors of the Inn are secured, and there is a front-door keypad with a combination given only to our guests. All of the room doors have two deadbolts that guests can use to secure their rooms.
 
We did a full inspection of your room after reading this review as this was only time that we had heard of a temperature issue in that room. The thermostat, located up stairs, controls the upstairs living quarters and it is a new 16 SEER, 5-ton unit that delivers plenty of cool air. (A separate 5-ton unit controls the down stairs.) We found that a previous guests had nearly closed one of the air-conditioning vents in your room restricting the airflow, causing the room to be a little warmer than the others.  We are still shaking our heads over this because these vents are located in the Inn’s 9+ foot high ceilings, and we are not sure how they managed to close this vent. We have opened the vent and oiled the fan so that future guests will be comfortable.
 
We sincerely apologize for the difficulties that you had during your stay with us, and regret that we weren’t able to address these issues while you were with us.
 
All our best in your future travels,
Mike & Dora Jane Barwick
Innkeepers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before. The MRI was our first experience. It exceeded all of our expectations. Mike and Dora Jane were perfect hosts. We stayed in the Pride of Virginia and it was gorgeous. The breakfast was superb! The grounds were wonderful with all the amenities one could ask for (pool, hiking trails, hammocks to relax in, a creek to fish in, and the list goes on). It was the most serene vacation we have ever had. We live hectic and at times stressful lives. This was the perfect getaway to allow us to decompress and re-energize. As we played games on the gazebo, Mike brought us turtle brownies as an afternoon snack. This is just one of many examples of the extra touches that were provided. I highly recommend the Mountain Rose Inn for a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lenora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Dear Lenora C,

We are so delighted that your first time B&B stay was here at the Mountain Rose and that you enjoyed your visit here. Through the course of our own personal travels, we've found that B&Bs are indeed special places! The turtle brownies were a new recipe that I tried and will make again soon for other guests.

Take care,
Dora Jane Barwick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in many Bed and Breakfasts and this was one of the very best ones. The room was beautiful the view even more so and the breakfast... Oh the breakfast!! I have a pretty severe food allergy and they were so sweet and accommodating about it. Some people are so grudging about a food sensitivity and some can embarrass you in front of other guests but The Mountain Rose Inn was so wonderful. They didn't make me feel self-conscious about it at all AND my food was still incredible. So good we ate so much we usually didn't even need lunch.

I just can't say enough for the Inn Keepers they were the epitome of hospitality. They went way above and beyond what was expected. We spent a very relaxing time enjoying the pool and scenery and walking in the beautiful woods. I can't recommend this place enough!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessieheninger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Mountain Rose Inn. We love Bed & Breakfasts and we were celebrating our Anniversary as well as going to the race at Martinsville. What a piece of paradise. We stayed in the Pride of Virginia room and it was quaint and lovely. There are two entrances with porches on either side of the room on the second floor of this lovely Virginia home. It is set back off the quiet, rolling road along a beautiful little river. There are chairs and swings along the river and it was extremely easy to sit and take in nature. Dora Jane and Mike were excellent hosts and even assisted my daughters to setting up champagne, flowers and chocolates for when we arrived! Dora Jane is a wonderful cook and made us feel special. She also set up a dinner for us at the Inn on Sunday night after our long day at the race. Just what we needed. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All 5 rooms are great! Fireplaces and traditional furnishings. There are several porches to sit and rock and relax.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews