We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Some Tweking”
Review of Zee Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Zee Restaurant
Price range: $4 - $35
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Seagrove, NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Needs Some Tweking”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We thought the menu sounded very intriguing. The sauces and bread were really good. The lamb and beef were cooked to well done, and were dry. The chicken dish had very little chicken and was bland, as were the meatballs. We were disappointed with the meats. Very large potions of rice. Our waitress was very friendly, the restaurant was clean, but the food needs some attention.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCJeweler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Owner_Zee, Owner at Zee Restaurant, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
No need to worry.
We are closing the restaurant on Sunday 19th of May 2013 at 9:00pm

If you had told us you weren't happy you would have gotten your meal free, or another meal of your choice, with an apology. We ALWAYS ask how your experience was.

If you don't tell us we can't help you or for that matter improve our quality control.
Every place makes a mistake occasionally as there are many factors behind the scenes happening. If the date you posted was the same date you ate at the restaurant our records show we were training a new cook. It was her second time cooking on her own.

As the old saying goes, if you are happy with the service and the quality tell others.
If you are not, tell us.

It appears in the internet age it's more polite to tell others what you don't like and not mention anything to the people who ask, really want to know, and who can do something about it, there and then, because they want to maintain their standards.

In the future, not that it makes any difference to us as we are closing, it is the right thing to tell the staff there is a problem, there and then, and allow them the courtesy of correcting it rather than letting them know it's all fine and then complaining out of sight,anonymously, in a public arena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Interesting Food”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant doesn't look like much from the outside, but it is worth a visit if you're in the area. The food was very good - a mixture of Mediterranean and Croation. The chevape - small grilled sausages are my favorites. They were excellently spiced. The lamb and chicken kabobs were also very good. The bread and dips are very tasty and might have been my favorite part of the meal. The bread is perfect for dipping and has a nice sprinkling of caraway seeds for extra flavor. The dips - let's just say there were no leftovers when we were done with them. The servings were large and not very expensive. The service was very friendly, and we had a very nice chat with the owner/chef. If I had any quibbles, it would be that the wine list was not very large, and the wine I had wasn't great. If you want freshly made food, at reasonable prices, and more exotic than other restaurants in the area, this is the place to go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Fortuitous Discovery”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This review is based on a single visit. We were planning to visit a restaurant which was closed for the day. We stumbled upon Zee. All three of us were more than pleasantly surprised by the entire experience. The restaurant was clean and airy. The sound level allowed easy conversation. The menu is short but that is good since all food is prepared from scratch. Now the specifics: waitress was friendly and very helpful without trying to push. The choice of entrees appeared to be heavily Balkan which made for a very new set of flavors. Service was swift, the food came to us hot, and the flavors were exceptional. As others have said, the home-made bread could easily make a meal by itself. Although I didn't try a dessert, one of the party did and it too was highly rated. The price level is very reasonable. Two comments: I wish there had been a few micro brews on the menu and, based on the ethnic accent of the food, I would have like to hear some southeastern European music in the background. Would I return? In a heart beat!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, New Jersey
1 review
“Excellent experience.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyable evening. Great selections on menu for every taste. Homemade soup that was absolutely delicious, and the home cheesecake was worth every calorie. I will stop by Zee's again on my next trip to/from Georgia.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimgles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurertown, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Bread, Exotic Food”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

You'll want to order a second helping of bread, but try not to, so you'll have room for the food. The home-made Somun bread comes with a choice of dips --tzadziki, hummus, or capiscum. They are all wonderful but the latter is my favorite. The chicken on a skewer is marvelous and all of his soups are great. Don't miss the split pea with ham. It's unlike any menu you've seen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Backroadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zee Restaurant also viewed

Woodstock, Shenandoah County
Woodstock, Shenandoah County
 
Woodstock, Shenandoah County
Woodstock, Shenandoah County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing