We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Narrow Passage
Ranked #1 of 3 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ft. Washington, Md.
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed September 26, 2009

The INN at NARROW PASSAGE in WOODSTOCK, VA. is positively the most
wonderful Inn I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. You feel as if you are with family.
The service is EXCELLENT, the food TERRIFIC the Innkeepers are the BEST. Do take
some time from your busy schedule to spend a weekend or more at the INN. You will not regret one moment of your stay.


ANNE N.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    15
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
95
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
long island,n.y.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

i can't praise this BED AND BREAKFAST enough. to start with the location is BEAUTIFUL AND SERINE. chock full of civil war history. the room was cozy and comfortable.an added plus was the porch right OUTSIDE OUR DOOR. secondly, the owner ed was attentive and a plesure to be around. the breakfast was good also! thirdly, there is plenty to do in the area {WITHIN DRIVING DISTANCE}.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford Va
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Our weekend at the Inn was fantastic. Although I was alone all day, as I had arranged fly fishing lessons for my husband Bill, a gift for Father's Day. The problem was he needed the car, so I was forced to relax (for me that is difficult). I was very surprised how much I loved the scenery, location and peace and quiet. Watched two movies, read two books and enjoyed the sunshine on the porch. Breakfast served with a smile and the personal touch was a great start of the day.
The Inn Keepers are the best. I personally want to thank them for taking care of me while I was stranded, but what a GREAT PLACE to be stranded at.
Thanks again for great weekend and making us feel like family and thanks again for the coffee Ed. We will see you again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a 3 day getaway not far from the city where we could relax and enjoy some time together. We are in our 20s and just wanted something quiet where we could do some cycling and maybe some hiking. I booked at the Inn at Narrow Passage mostly because other places didn't have availability or had really bad reviews. This was one of the best hotel stays we've ever had. The historic Inn was absolutely charming on the outside. It has tons of character and is situated right on the Shenandoah river. Adirondack chairs set on the lawn provided a great place to sip wine in the evenings and watch the sun go down. The yard is well kept with flower gardens in abundance. Most rooms have a covered porch with two chairs sitting outside. We sat out on the porch and watched a spring rain in the evening one night. There is a common area with tons of magazines to peruse no matter what your interest as well as free soda and snacks. They also had free cookies set out which really hit the spot after dinner in the evenings. Breakfast was great in the mornings. Breakfast is in a large dining room and we had the opportunity to meet lots of other nice people that were also staying at the Inn. Breakfast featured fresh fruit, warm scones, assorted coffee cakes, and a main entree which was eggs and bacon one day and french toast and sausage the other day. The bacon was some of the best I've ever had. They also had cereal, OJ, granola, yogurt, and tea if you preferred a smaller meal.

The rooms were simple and decorated in an older country style but they were cozy and clean which is my number one requirement. I wasn't thrilled with the decor by the pictures online as I'm more of an IKEA person myself, but it fit in with the surroundings and was kind of charming. There was satellite TV as well as a mini-fridge and a hair dryer which was great because I left mine at home. It is an older inn but they still had a lot of modern conveniences that I wasn't expecting but appreciated.

Ed the inn-keeper is very friendly and helpful and pointed us in the direction of really good local food. We ate at Joe's steakhouse the first night and The spring house tavern the second night. Both were wonderful. We love meeting people on our vacations and having a local to recommend activities and restaurants. Ed was great for this.

Our first day, we spent the day cycling 70 miles. The inn is a great place to start from if you're in the area for cycling. There are great country roads around the inn. The second day we went horseback riding which was exciting and on the third day we did Luray caverns. Ed was nice enough to make sandwhiches for us to take on our trail ride. We also went for an evening walk down the street that the Inn is situated on. There is a foot bridge across the river right next to the Inn that was a lot of fun to walk across.

We drove by a civil war re-enactment in a neighboring town and stopped at a charming local coffee shop another evening. While we didn't go to a vineyard, there are several in the area and if you're a cyclist, there are several within biking distance. We are saving that for next time. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkwcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2009

The Inn at Narrow Passage is a charming place to stay and I would recommend it to others, the main qualm with this B&B is the room rate. The room was a nice size, clean and tastefully decorated (though a little dated). A big plus about the room/Inn is the free wifi. I had no trouble connecting and using the wireless network provided by the inn. The bathroom was of decent size, the sink area was a bit cramped, though. In addition, there were some plumbing issues that required some time with a plunger. The breakfast did not have a spectacular selection -- more like a continental buffet style, but very tasty. The grounds were possibly the best attribute considering the appearance and the history. There is one thing potential visitors should be aware of -- Rte. 11. The road noise from Rte. 11 is noticible, albeit the most noticble during the day. The owners were very hospitable and accommodating, in particular our late check-in and late check-out. With all that said, I think I would be more forgiving of the toilet, breakfast, road noise; etc, if the room rate was a bit less.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_jtravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2009

As we were traveling south on I-81, my husband and I decided to call it a night and finish our journey the following day. Unfortunately, the pickings are slim with regards to hotels in western Virginia and many of the smaller inns and B&B's do not allow children (we have a 6 year old). I did a quick internet search and found the Inn at Narrow Passage, made a phone call and were checked into our spacious room about 15 minutes later. The innkeepers treated us as members of their own family. The room was comfortable, the grounds a delight and the breakfast, delicious. Remember, this is a small Inn, if you are looking for a pool and little bottles of shampoo, go to the Hampton Inn down the road. If you are looking for class and history, the Inn at Narrow Passage is for you.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinainvirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2009

Having visited The Inn at Narrow Passage some years ago, we knew what to expect when we made our reservations. The innkeepers, Ed and Ellen Markel, are friendly , gracious and helpful. They made us feel quite at home, allmost a part of the family. Our queen canopy bed was comfortable and the working fireplace was a special treat, since the evenings were chilly outside. Our primary objective in this trip was to have some "down-time" from helping to raise two grandaughters.We explored the area part of each day, then came back to the Inn to read(uninterrupted!) relax and/or nap. This was truly the get-away we had hoped for. We found the serviuce to be exceptional and personal, not what you would find in a hotel/motel. It was so nice to return to a room made neat and clean by the maid service. I think what we liked most was the serenity, and the friendliness of Ed and Ellen. We look forward to an opportunity to visit them again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Narrow Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Narrow Passage

Property: Inn at Narrow Passage
Address: 30 Chapman Landing Rd, (Rt. 672), Woodstock, VA 22824-2857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic lodging near Woodstock, Virginia, on the Shenandoah River. River Access for fishing and canoeing. free internet full breakfast included ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing