We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn in a beautiful setting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Narrow Passage
Ranked #1 of 3 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming Inn in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Setting on the shenandoah river with a mountain backdrop, it is a beautiful location. The rooms are nice with a rustic feel to them, but also have a television. The weather was a bit cold during our visit, but the vineyard is close by and accomodating restaurants within 5 minutes. The breakfast was not fancy but bountiful and the owner Ed, was kind, courteous and attentive. They even have fireplaces in the rooms to improve the ambiance. Hope to come back when the leaves are changing and when the weather is more condusive to outdoor activities.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    15
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
98
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Churchville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

My wife and I spent our first anniversary here back in 1982. We returned for our 25th and found the warmth and hospitality much the same. Beautiful setting on the Shenandoah River, comfortable room, delicious breakfast, personal service, definitely worth your time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2011

On a trip to visit wineries and family in the Woodstock area, we stayed at the Inn. The Inn was beautiful, the view gorgeous, and after a day of wine tastings we decided to end the evening sitting in front of the fire chatting in the main building with our friends. Ed came by to add more wood to the fire and we invited him to stay and chat.........it was a memorable evening. We had such a wonderful and relaxing time. Breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious. Even though we have family in the area we're definitely coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmwcaw32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We were heading south for an overnight getaway and found the "Inn" online. I called to see if we could stop and take a look and were welcomed to stop by. Ed greeted us warmly and invited us into the beautiful colonial tavern happily showing us around. We knew right away that we wanted to stay. The Inn is beautifully situated and the accommodations are so inviting with the cozy fireplace in the room and a four poster bed and the all important private bath. Breakfast was a delight in the tavern with our table right next to the roaring fire. We enjoyed a hot breakfast including a nice spread of breads and pastries and coffee and conversation with our host. We will recommend this lovely Inn to family and friends and certainly enjoy another stay in the future.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the view from our second floor, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Ris
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

A very comfortable inn - a very nice welcome by the owner who would accommodate extras at breakfast if requested. However, some of the bedrooms are adjacent ot a busy mainroad and worth noting to request one off the main road if staying again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

On a week long trip from Williamsburg to Philadelphia, we traveled through the shenandoah valley, and arrived at dusk. The photos on the website did not do justice to the room and the setting. Breakfast was substantial and delicious on both days we were there. The porches and balcony provided wonderful vantage points from which to enjoy coffee, a beautiful sunrise through the trees and a visit with the resident groundhog...the flowers and shrubs framed the welcome warmth in the cool mountain air. Ellen took the time and effort to have roses in our room to surprise my wife in celebration of our anniversary. Sitting in the dining room with Ed after breakfast reminded me of an unexpected reunion with an old and dear friend. We stayed at four places on the trip, and The Inn at Narrow Passage was the high point of our trip. Thank you Ellen and Ed. Steve Roberts

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsrobsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed Saturday and Sunday and had a truly enjoyable l time. The room was immaculate---with a nice porch and pleasant view. The Inn provided everything we needed,-- reading material and a binder full of information about local attractions--good advice on the local area and, we even had an impromtu piano recital by one of the other guests. The bathroom was large---with a tub and shower and very clean. Breakfast was some local foods---eggs, bacon, sausage,apple sauce and pastries as well as cereal, juice, coffee, tea and fruit and more. The setting for this beautiful INN is perfect. .We enjoyed the music at Orkney Springs and the innkeepers' conversations and recommendations on local restaurants and attractions. This is a great value and we will definitely be back. Thanks Ed and Ellen

Room Tip: Describe your preferences to Ed--to get the room that suits you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
13.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
272 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
228 reviews
14.6 mi away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Narrow Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Narrow Passage

Property: Inn at Narrow Passage
Address: 30 Chapman Landing Rd, (Rt. 672), Woodstock, VA 22824-2857
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic lodging near Woodstock, Virginia, on the Shenandoah River. River Access for fishing and canoeing. free internet full breakfast included ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing